Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vistadude

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 3, 2010
Okay guys, here's a review of the macbook, the Mac OS experience, and the windows experience for my 12 month use of the unibody macbook coming from a PC perspective. Hopefully this will help curious buyers to see if a Mac will be useful to them compared to a PC.

Background:
I've been using Windows for about 15 years now, starting mainly from windows 95. More recently, I had a desktop running Windows 7 and a laptop running windows XP media center edition. The laptop was a power user notebook with a 15 inch high res matte screen, about 1650 x 1050 pixels, and had been running for about 4 years. It was a fast laptop than came with 2 GB ram in 2006. The reason I was looking to get a new laptop was mainly because the graphics in powerpoint when connected to a project would often fail. Often times the projector display was missing pixels, or had lines or dots all over, or the aspect ratio was wrong. Of course this is very embarrassing when you give conference talks, and if you restart your computer, you will have to skip half of your presentation. No one could give me a solution to the problem other than to try a different graphics card, which is impossible in a notebook, or update drivers, which didn't help. Secondly, my notebook was loud and quite thick, almost 2 inches thick, which made it hard to carry around on travel. On the plus side, the screen was extremely clear and easy to read, the processing power was fast, the keyboard was very easy to type on, and the laptop had many useful ports, such as 4 USB ports, firewire, and all the essentials. This made it a workhorse machine, not unlike a desktop.

The Choices: