Review of Sector Pro for iPhone 6 from Element Case

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by NauticalDan, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. NauticalDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    This is a review of my silver Sector Pro iPhone 6 case from Element Case.

    The package comes with the case itself already assembled. A nylon fabric carry case that fastens with two magnets. A tool to use to dissemble and assemble the case. Installation instructions.

    The installation instructions were pretty easy to follow. Compared to the Sector 5 for iPhone 5, I thought the installation was easier and faster. You only have to remove two screws and remove the bottom piece. From there, the back plate comes off and you surround your iPhone in the case (left side, top, right side). Make sure the mute switch position on your phone matches the mute switch position on the case (On and On, or Off and Off). The back plate was a bit tricky to get in, but I found it easiest to install by snapping in with the sides pushed out a bit, then having the top part of the back plate just slightly down from the top of the top rail, half covering the iPhones camera. Then slidding it to the top once in. From there, just move the side rails tightly into position, and screw on the bottom piece again. Fairly easy, no more than 5 minutes.

    The build quality is really excellent. It fits nice a tight, and the buttons for the mute switch, power, and volume are very responsive.

    The case does add quite a bit of thickness to the bottom of the iPhone especially where it flares out. I'd say at least 5mm on each side. However, the case is narrower in the middle. It does make the iPhone 6 feel more like you are holding an iPhone 6 plus. One handed use is a bit harder (I can't reach the top left of the screen to navigate back in the Messages app, but I can without a case, or even with my old UAG case I had on).

    There does appear to be some signal loss with the case on. Maybe 1-2 bars. I can't quantify this more yet, but will have to do some tests. I live downtown in a big city, so it isn't a huge issue for me.

    The case is fairly light, although feels very solid in the hand. The quality is very apparent.

    The openings for the headphone port and lightning connector aren't huge, so some after market accessories might not fit.

    Overall, a very good case. I sort of like the design better than the Sector 5, however with the phones getting bigger, the added thickness really did push me over the edge from being able to use my iPhone 6 with one hand easily to being a little more tricky with this case on. Another design change between this case and the Sector 5 is that the sim card slot is not accessible. You will have to take the case off to access the sim card slot. Also, the Sector 5 looked fine without the back plate on. With the Sector Pro for iPhone 6, I would say the back plate is mandatory and not optional. You could leave it off, but there is a noticeable gap between the back of the phone and the rails. It was designed to be used with the back plate.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. LFCYNWA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #2
    Can you please show us pics without the backplate installed?

     
  3. NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I'll see what I can do later if I take it apart to test the signal strength. Basically, there will be about a 1 or 1.5 mm gap between where the back plate should be instead of sitting flush with the backplate installed. It's quite a significant gap (and sharp edges!), and lint and dirt will accumulate there.

    It simply isn't meant to be used without the backplate, and I would say the back plate was optional for the Sector 5. For the Sector 6, it is no longer optional.
     
  4. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #4
    im glad the back now slides in, less dust to get crammed in there!
     
  5. NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Yes! That is a good point. With this back plate, since it actually has a lip that slides under the rails, it now sits completely flush with rails and there is absolutely no gap. No dust or lint will accumulate at all.
     
  6. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #6
    you probably dont want to remove the case but did you happen to get any shots of the interior? how well is the inside of the case lined with felt?
     
  7. NauticalDan, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I have a picture of the interior, but it was head on. I don't recall if the rails were lined with felt (they were for the Sector 5). I'll take some better pictures when I remove the case. I think I probably will in the next day or two to test the signal strength.

    And to be honest, although I think this is a really decent case, I think it adds too much width for me to keep using.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #8
    the life proof fre added too much bulk for me on the 6, this looks like it might be close to that. if you put pressure on the sides do the case rails give in a little towards the phone like on the sector 5? or does the backplate prevent that from happening? i can't wait till they are for sale so i can order one!
     
  9. NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Putting pressure on the sides of the rails results in no movement (maybe a miniscule amount). I think it might be attributed to the back plate a bit as it sure was a tight fit to get the back plate to fit into the case, but I think it's also just a bit of a better design and fits tighter.

    All the joints on the sector 5 seemed to be a bit loser or flexible. These ones are cut in a way there really is no way for them to move or bend around the way the angles on the joints are.
     
  10. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #10
    awsome! well thanks for answering my questions! let us know if you decide to keep or return it!
     
  11. archrider macrumors 6502a

    archrider

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #11
    The sides have rubber or plastic grips expressed on the outside. this material must line the insides of the rails continuously. They may even be part of the corner pieces. Seems to me it would be more durable than the old felt liner that stuck out at the edges.
     
  12. NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    no signal loss

    Alright - I took the case off and did some tests and took some more pictures.

    Happy to report that the signal loss was all in my head. I put the iPhone in field test data mode by dialing *3001#12345#* and was able to see the exact signal loss. Tested from different areas of my home, and it was pretty much exactly the same results with the case as without the case.

    As for the lining, there is some rubber on the inside where the grips would be. And I don't believe this case will scratch the phone at all:

    [​IMG]

    You can see in the picture above at the top there is groove where the back plate is meant to slip into. The back plate has a lip that slips into that. If you don't have the back plate on, it's going to look stupid and feel weird in the hand. I recall seeing on Element Cases's Facebook page they said the back plate was optional for the Sector Pro and not the Sector, but this was over a month ago when I think the case was maybe still in final design stages? I really don't consider the back plate optional at all.

    I've taken some pictures to illustrate this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. shamashu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #13

    How to test the signal by dialing. 3001? There are so many options.. Which one should i look? Hehe thanks
     
  14. archrider macrumors 6502a

    archrider

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #14

    I have to say, you've gone above and beyond the call of duty in your reporting of valuable information. I'm so glad to hear about the signal issue. I think I may be able to live with the raised lip and groove on the back. I'll be able to tell more when I get my case which will be black making the groove maybe less obvious and providing generous lay on the table protection. Either way since the back is easily installed or removed I can make that decision or change it without stress.

    Thanks so much, really well done.
     
  15. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #15
    convinced me to order a case! as long as my cars transmission replacement isn't too much, ill place my order tomorrow!:D going with silver for my silver 6
     
  16. Gonz19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #16
    I got mine in today and have to say it fits great. My only issue is with the mute switch. Doesn't seem to work all the time. Have you had issues with yours? Will post pics of case with aegis screen protector.
     
  17. archrider macrumors 6502a

    archrider

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #17
    I'm anxious to see pictures of a black Sector 6 Pro.
     
  18. Gonz19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #18
    Sorry mine is silver as well.
     
  19. archrider macrumors 6502a

    archrider

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #19
    Maybe someone else got a black case, if so pictures please.
     
  20. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #20
    your iPhone doesn't happen to be white does it? :D
     
  21. Gonz19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #21
    Sorry mine is black as well.
     
  22. NauticalDan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    I haven't had any problems with the mute switch. Seems pretty solid.
    Did you make sure it was in the same position as your iPhone's mute switch when you installed it? That's the only thing I could think of that could be a problem.
     
  23. Gonz19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #23
     
  24. Gonz19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #24
    Here are some pics. Currently using an Ageis screen protector. Last pic shows no real signal loss with case on.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Itsedstech macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    ohio
    #25
    well just placed my order! ive seen silver and black but so far no one has ordered red from what i know
     

Share This Page