Right RAM for 2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rebel Film, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Rebel Film macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #1
    Hi all, just a real quick question, Google or search didn't came up with any usefull, I have just ordered the following RAM for my base 2010 Mac Pro(2.8 Ghz Quad). I think it should work, but I'm unsure now. This is the ram I ordered: Kingston ValueRam KVR1333D3E9SK3 12 GB(3x4GB Kit). As far as I know the ram is 1333mhz, but wil work as 1033mhz on my MP right? If not I can have the order exchanged to KTA ram. Thnx for your input!
     
  2. philipma1957, Oct 26, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2010

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
  3. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #3
    I can't comment on the quality of the RAM you purchased, but 1333MHz will just downclock to 1066MHz in your system. I've done the same thing as the difference was only a couple dollars and I hope to upgrade to a Westmere CPU in the future.
     
  4. Rebel Film thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #4
    Thnx for the quick replies! I'm in the Netherlands though, prices are a bit different here, the 1066Mhz KTA RAM is about €50/$70 more expensive. Higher quality RAM start at €100/$140 more. Ordering from the USA isn't really an option, shipping+taxes will really add up to the costs. I will just order the RAM I selected then ;) I can have this ram for €200/$275 and that's after some big pricedrops.
     
  5. you39 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #5
    You could order from Germany:

    http://www.inprotec.net/putshop.php?sess=3340201010262130274063&art=KTA-MP1066K3/12G

    It's KTA RAM and the price seems very good.
     
  6. silby101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    #6
    I'm using KVR1333D3E9SK2/8G in my 2010 6-core machine. Works great so far! I'm not sure what the difference is between the K2 and K3, so you will have to look into that.

    You can read some of the differences between the KVR and OWC Ram in my opinion.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1020241#24
     
  7. Rainbird macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Apple has started shipping 1333Mhz memory in all 2010 Mac Pro's. That is because it is currently cheaper than 1066Mhz. So yes, it will work.
     
  8. Rebel Film thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #8
    Thnx for all the helpfull information, esp for Silby. I'm waiting for the ram to be shipped now :)
     
  9. silby101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    #9
    Cool, np. I just tested my RAM last night using memtest (http://www.command-tab.com/2008/01/11/how-to-test-ram-under-mac-os-x/)

    Ran perfectly after about 2 hours and no errors at all. Seems like the KVR ram I got was perfect!
     

Share This Page