rMB and 5K iMac combo?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Enmanuel, Jun 12, 2015.

1. Enmanuel macrumors regular

Enmanuel

I sold my 15 Retina MBP (2.7 i7, 16G Ram) and will receive my rMB (1.2/512) on Monday. I'm thinking of getting a 5K iMac and have a desktop for intense work and thee rMB for portability. With the 15 I always felt like it was too heavy to carry around but definitely feel like I might need more power than the rMB can offer. I'm an architect and sometimes have to do some rending work and drawing on my computer, but not all the time.

Sugestions and opinions?

2. nrubenstein macrumors 6502

That's what I have.

Well, the work machine is a standard 27" iMac. :(

3. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

4. andy9l macrumors 68000

I use a 27" iMac as my desktop machine and a rMB the other 90% of the time.

I use iCloud Drive, iCloud Photo Library and NAS to sync everything. To the point where I could format one machine right now and it wouldn't matter - regardless of having TM backups.

I'm waiting until the next 5K iMac before upgrading my existing 27".

The setup works great.

5. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

MyopicPaideia

Yup, that's a great combo, can't really do much better!

6. tbirdparis macrumors 6502

I am planning to do precisely that. More or less.. personally am planning on getting the 1.3 rMB since it's only a tiny bit more money than the standard 512GB storage that I want anyway. Have heard enough talk that it gets noticeably better battery life to make it feel like a decent thing to take a punt on. Am still working with a non retina iMac as my main machine, but it's a fully optioned one that has been rock solid. Will definitely replace it with a fully decked 5K when the time comes.

I think this duo is pretty fantastic. Certainly makes me feel way more happy than the thought of owning a Mac Pro, and combined they will more than handle the full range of work and not-work that I do. Go for it!

7. bwb, Jun 12, 2015