RMBP: Partition almost fully used

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by freelancer27, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. freelancer27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    I just was finally able to install bootcamp andW7 on mrRMBP.
    And W7 seems to run pretty smooth at full resolution.

    I just have just one big issue:

    I made a 50GB partition for W7. Installed W7 and steam and now I have just 9.5GB left of 50GB. WTF!? How come? I thought W7 would just be around 7-9GB big? Where did all my space go?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Radiating macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    #2
    Ummm Windows 7 is normally around 25-35 GB + your page file, so if you have 8 gb of ram and the steam instal was 2.5 gb that works out to the exact size you listed.

    It sounds like you vastly under estimated how big the windows 7 instal really is.
     
  3. dazmanuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #3
  4. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #4
    Windows 7 is not 25-30GB. Disable the page file and hibernation file and you'll be pretty good to go. If you have the 16GB model, that would definitely do it (as it would allocate 32GB just for paging and hibernation).
     
  5. freelancer27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #5
    So how do I do this?

    Yes, I have the 16GB model.
     
  6. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    First of all, use 32-bit version of windows. This helps trim things down. Second, use http://www.rt7lite.com/ to reduce the size of the installed windows system. Good luck!
     
  7. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #7
  8. A7ibaba macrumors regular

    A7ibaba

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    Ok,let's get this thing straight.U bought MacBook and u are using bootcamp windows 7.How ****ed is that,man?! :eek: Ok,i would maybe understand this if u need to use win7 for something on mac ?(even if i can't remember one thing) so i noticed u instaled steam,so i'm thinking u are using mac for win 7 and playing games on windows platform which is pretty weird,but ok. I'm just saying,your mac,your shi*t ;),but c'mon.
     
  9. freelancer27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #9
    Yes, to get this straight:

    I am using W7 on bootcamp just to play games...
     
  10. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #10

    I primarily use Windows 7 on my Air. I think it's pretty weird for you to think it weird for others to have Windows on their Mac.
     
  11. A7ibaba macrumors regular

    A7ibaba

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    Its weird because u can buy windows 7 laptop under 700$ which run games flawlesly,or to rather say,2-3 times better than any mac. i7,8 GB Ram,GT660 with 2 GB Ram and SSD are pretty common thing on any PC laptop and u don't need to use any parallel virtualization or emulation under OS.
     
  12. mdapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #12
    but u dont get the form factor of the macbook ;). plus apple looks more professional if necessary to bring into work
     
  13. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #13
    Not true.
     
  14. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #14
    But then I lose the ability to run OS X if I need/want to.
     
  15. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #15
    Get an external USB 3 drive and put all the games on that
     
  16. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #16
    Just because someone needs to use Windows on their Mac doesn't mean they should buy a Windows machine instead. Chances are that there's a few Windows programs that they need to run, and the fact that you can do that on a Mac is really convenient. Why have an extra Windows machine if you don't need it?
     
  17. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #17
    Why should I pay additional $700 for an ugly plastic brick when I can also play games at similar settings using my work RMBP with its much better screen? Really, some of you people just have too much money... now, I would understand your confusion if the RMBP was used for gaming only, which it clearly is not. And bootcamp is not virtualization, Windows is natively supported on Apple computers since a long time now.

    And btw, good luck finding a windows laptop with same level of performance as the RMBP for $700. Over $1000 is more likely.

    P.S. Why am I even answering you? :/
     
  18. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #18
    Exactly
     
  19. Nckcard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #19
    Why do bootcamp threads always turn into fanboy arguments? OP just wants to know what gives with all of this space taken up, let him do what he wants with his machine, he doesn't need to be chastised for it.

    I am doing a similar thing, but I just moved the entire steam installation over to an external usb3 ssd, and I run the games off of that. It feels just as fast and it saves space on the internal drive.
     
  20. VacantPsalm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #20
    This will be quite necessary if I end up using bootcamp for games once I get my 16gig RMBP. (Would rather use VMs.) Thank you very much.

    This, because just TF2 is like ~10+ gigs. Plus IIRC, you can plop all of Steam on the thumb drive and to run it off either a VM or bootcamp. One install, two environments, zero space on main storage.
     
  21. freelancer27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #21
    So, I think that sounds like a good idea to me.

    I will get an external USD drive and put Steam and all games on it. Should be fast enough for everything right?!

    It is actually pretty funny how people can get upset if someone chooses to use Windows on a Macbook...haha
     
  22. A7ibaba macrumors regular

    A7ibaba

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #22
    Nah,i just find it ridiculous since i'm thinking just opposite.I buy macbook because of OSX and not because of hardware,because i find macbook hardware pretty overpriced and underpowered compared to usual PC laptops in the same price range.
     
  23. mzjin macrumors 6502

    mzjin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #23
    I spend most of my day on my 27" Core i7 iMac under Window if I'm running a game. I also have Office installed so it runs no differently for doing work and browsing either.
     
  24. mzjin macrumors 6502

    mzjin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #24
    Then you have little understanding of what constitutes "hardware". The Engineering of a product like the Macbook Pro Retinas not only include hardware you can not get anywhere else, which is a combination of the "specs & #s", but the cooling system, dimensions, build quality, and screen quality.

    In fact, if you want any PC laptop with a comparable Macbook Pro screen quality, you're going to be paying the same money + getting the plastic leftovers.
     
  25. leman, Jun 29, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 29, 2012

    leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #25
    Not being a 'businessman' like yourself, I can't afford buying multiple computers for each different piece of software I use. If you want or can to dish out $1000 for a gaming machine in addition to the one you use for your work, good for you. I want to have a single machine which works well enough for all my needs. Incidentally, the Mac can play the games I enjoy just fine while current Windows offerings do not work well enough for the type of work I do. And if your 'businessman' brain is not big enough to understand this simple state of affairs, well, you should probably consult a specialist. But I forgot, you are a 'businessman', you reside within your own tiny perfect world...
     

Share This Page