rMBP vs. MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macAllen, Feb 15, 2013.

1. macAllen macrumors 6502

macAllen

Hi guys! I in a bit of a conundrum here, I've posted this in the MBA section but I'm looking for rMBP owners opinion...

MBA vs rMPB?
    -MBA 13” 1.8GHz 128GB 8GB mem. $1,319.90 (After Tax) Refurbished rMBP
    -Refurbished rMBP 13" 2.5GHz 128GB 8GB mem. $1,371.79 (After Tax)

Difference that I've notice.
    $52 more for rMBP
    Retina display
    Heavier
    Newer (recent launch)
    Refurbished vs New

What I'm debating on..
    I don't mind spending the $52. I'm just debating if its worth it. I know refurbished from other post, comes in mint like new, even better than new. However, I had my mind set on the Air because very thin and light, and battery life, and most importantly portability.

Needs...
    I'm a college student so I want something future proof. As in I have a 08 iMac that's still like the day I bought it and will used it as my main computer. Not only future proof but also portability. That includes weight and battery life. I love the light weight feature of the Air and battery life but is it the same for a rMBP?

Is there any one out there who has or had a rMBP and prefers an Air or vice versa? Is it worth getting a better screen and a little bit newer computer (maybe even future proof)? Or is it just best to get a lighter weight possibly better battery?

2. Radiating macrumors 65816

I've tried both, if it were me I would get the Air no question. The Retina MBP 13" is just too bulky and heavy. It also had 80% the battery life and this is noticable. Though I have a MBA and a 15" rMBP.