Rolling back to OS 7.0 from 7.5, and Ram Doublers

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by bob5820, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. bob5820 macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #1
    I recently picked up a classic II with OS7.5 installed. From what I've read compacts such as the Classic II perform better with 7.0 then they do with 7.5. I'm thinking of rolling the Mac back to 7.0, is there any reason not to do so?

    The system also has Conectix Ram Doubler 2 installed. About this Mac shows 4096k of built in Ram and 12288k total. IIRC the Classic II actually has 2m of Ram built in, so I assume that the Ram Doubler is somehow tricking the system into believing it has 4 m of built in Ram. Does this mean my Classic II also has an additional 4m of ram installed? 2 megs built in + 4 megs add on *2 (RAm Doubler) = 12 megs, right? I vaguely remember having a Ram doubler in Windows 3.1, is this the same type of program?
     
  2. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #2
    RamDoubler on Windows = Fraud and ultimately a joke application. Waste of money. Never did try it on a Mac, so have no idea, whether it legitimately could compress active programs on the fly to occupy less memory space, but I doubt it. Probably the time overhead in compressing/uncompressing active threads offers no benefit over paging to the HD.
     
  3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    RamDoubler on a Mac does work. Thats where it originated from.

    Its slow though.

    OP: You'll probably want to focus on finding 7.1 rather than 7.0.
     
  4. shu82 macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #4
    System 7 is a free download from Apple. Also, all ram doublers are is a virtual memory program.
     
  5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    System 7.0.x and 7.5.x are. Neither 7.1.x nor 7.6.x are free, which is a shame since those are the better ones.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    There was a huge jump in quality between 7.5.3 and 7.5.5. If you have 7.5.5 installed, leave it installed. Basically, virtual memory actually worked as intended for the first time in 7.5.5.
     

Share This Page