Rosetta's dead

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Spaceman Spiff, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. Spaceman Spiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #1
    I have a rather curious problem with my mac pro (running 10.4.10) - it won't run PowerPC apps. They just don't open anymore, they'll bounce in the dock and disappear. No error or anything. I'm sure it's due to them not being UBs, as when I check "Run in Rosetta" for any program it fails to open. I installed RAM recently, but removing it has done nothing. I'm not sure how long these problems have been around for, as my Mac has had several bad runs in the last couple months and I can't be sure when this specific problem started.

    Any suggestions as to what to do here?
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  3. Spaceman Spiff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #3
    Last year I ran it, I believe. But definitely not recently.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    So PowerPC apps have worked until now? What happens if you try another user account?
     
  5. CortexRock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canterbury, England
    #5
    Gotta say I've noticed this as well... Photoshop 7 does the dock bounce and nothing, runs very occasionally, but runs like a dog with three legs when it does. I'm on a CD iMac 20" with 10.4.10.
     
  6. Spaceman Spiff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #6
    My Mac Pro's been with me since they were released, and has run PowerPC apps perfectly until recently.

    There are no other user accounts on this computer, but I shall try and create one. Of note, I run a different version of OS X on a separate hard drive that I will boot into on rare occasion, and it was not running some of the same programs, but that quite possibly could have been incompatibility with the system version. I'll have to test it out on other apps to find out.
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    They can't have deliberately taken out Rosetta, after all they could be sued for removing existing functionality, there must be a bug in the software.
     
  8. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Looks like Quicktime 7.2 has been fingered as the culprit for this one.

    Here are Apple's procedures for rectifying the problem.
     
  9. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Man, Apple have had some issues with the 10.4.10 update... :(
     
  10. CortexRock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canterbury, England
    #10
    Tried this, but PS7 is still taking an age to open and is moving as fast as an asthamatic ant carrying some heavy shopping (with thanks to Capt. Blackadder for the description).

    Thanks for trying though! Anyone else got any ideas?
     
  11. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #11
    Most do not have the problem. Rosetta still working normally here, after 10.4.10 and QT 7.2.
     
  12. CortexRock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canterbury, England
    #12
    Lol... thanks for sharing, but the OP obviously *is* having problems, and so am I.

    Imagine if you'd seen someone fall over - you (probably) wouldn't go over and say "look at me, I'm walking fine, I'm not tripping over" you'd try to help them out. This thread is us falling over, and we're asking for help, not advice from the Ministry of Pointing Out The Flippin' Obvious. :p
     
  13. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #13
    It wasn't directed at you. Do you think I really missed the point that you have a real problem? Your efforts would be better spent on the issues at hand, rather than insulting other members.

    My response was to what was obviously meant as a general statement about the update. There are readers who don't get the fact that the problems posted here do not reflect the experience of the vast majority of users.

    If you read the post, I was not quoting the OP. Sorry you both are having problems, but you are in the minority.
     
  14. CortexRock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canterbury, England
    #14
    Okay, well humour doesn't always travel on t'internet and it's subjective at best... let's chalk this one down to experience and move on. :)
     
  15. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #15
    Actually, I did laugh at the "Ministry..." part. No worries.
     
  16. Spaceman Spiff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #16
    Alright, well, the fix seems to be working perfectly, Rosetta's working again. Thanks VanNess, and everyone else who offered their help.
     
  17. NewtypeCJ macrumors 6502

    NewtypeCJ

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #17
    Gotta revive this thread as I'm having the problem and Apple's fixes aren't working. Well, rather, the Terminal line does nothing (it produces an error) and I can't run the Mac OS X Update Combined (Intel). It gives me the stop sign with the ! saying "This volume does not meet the requirements for this update." This is a brand new aluminum iMac here, and Rosetta's dead. :'( I can't go without it as I need to run Quicken and that's not a Universal binary at this point. :\ Any ideas as to a fix?
     

Share This Page