Running games in Windowed Mode

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by eulcedes, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. eulcedes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    I've run into this problem recently with new games not giving an option for windowed mode vs. full screen. I'm accustomed to playing a game in windowed mode and being able to chat or watch movies on my other screen. In games where this is not a customizable option does anyone know of a method to force the game to run in windowed mode instead of full screen?
    there was an earlier thread mentioning holding down cmd key on startup as a fix, unfortunately this doesn't seem to work for many Aspyr games i'm currently playing...

    thanks much!

    Titles i'm currently battling with: Rise of Nations, Crusader Kings & Fallout 2 to name a few...

    cmd + H for aspyr games will take you back to the finder, but the game isn't playable..
     
  2. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #2
    If there's no option, then there's no way, sorry. Windowed mode requires special handling (what do you do when the mouse pointer goes outside the window, etc.), so if the programmers didn't bother, then the game just won't work that way.

    --Eric
     
  3. BashStreetYouth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #3
    Hi, i remember for Rise Of Nations, if you go in it's folder in /Documents and open the rise2.ini, you can edit the top 2 or 3 lines to run in windowed mode at the res of your choice.
     
  4. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    Well for some Aspyr games you can hold the Shift Key (for example command the conquer use this system)...

    Also, there are preference files

    for example (again for generals there is a pref file called:
    com.aspyr.command.conquer.generals.zero.hour.plist

    inside the preference you can change the number for the part:

    mac.display.window _______ (number here)

    If the number is 0, this is fullscreen, if you change the number to 1, its windowed mode.

    Maybe this will help, i hope so
     
  5. dsl4c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    a few games will let you switch into window mode by cmd+m (WoW and a few others).. always worth a shot.. sometimes holding down option at startup can bring a window for graphics options..
     
  6. vtprinz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #6
    This works on Diablo II as well. Maybe it's a blizzard thing?
     
  7. sa gringo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    #7
    Is there a way to make the window a little larger?

    The full screen mode looks like crap on my 24" imac and the window mode is TINY...
     
  8. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #8
    Change the resolution of the game.
     
  9. Hydrogen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Oslo
    #9
    How did you enable window mode? I can’t figure it out. I am in mac, not windows.
     
  10. JasonZeppelin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #10
    Crude method

    You can always CTRL+mousewheel up. Its what I do for my older Win95 games in WINE.
     
  11. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    Wineskin can blow those up to fullscreen... though its a pain multitasking since the resolutoin is really changed down smaller...
     
  12. dnangel000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    #12
    Here's the solution I found recently;
    Goto the Right click on Diablo 2 App > Show Package Contents > Double click on Winskin then Set screen options (Or whatever) then input these settings... lol
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #13
    That's a great suggestion! Quite a lot can be done in .ini files. Here is an example for an Assassin's Creed Tweak Guide.
     
  14. C4LB33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    #14
    windowed mode

    Hold the command key. Oh yeah and guys, how do you start a discussion?
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    Hit "New Thread" button on top page of a forum. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page