Running MacTheRipper and Handbrake concurrently?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Steven Jackson, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. Steven Jackson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #1
    Hi,

    Can I run MacTheRipper (to extract DVDs) at the same time as Handbrake (to encode Video_TS files already extracted)?

    Actually, I know you can (I'm doing it now), but while Handbrake seems to be working fine, MacTheRipper seems to be struggling...

    Is this a bad idea?

    [iMac 2.33GHz, 2GB RAM]

    Steve
     
  2. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #2
    Are you running them on the same DVD?

    I use MTR to extract and DVD2OneX at the same time, but on difference DVD file sets.
     
  3. Steven Jackson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #3
    No, not the same disc. However, I have my answer now anyway. My computer froze and I had to hold down the power button to switch it off. No more MacTheRipper and Handbrake at the same time for me...

    Steve.
     
  4. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #4
    Don't do it..

    I have the same problem, Handbrake attempts to access the DVD even when ripping from HD. When MTR is hogging the DVD this doesn't work very well at all. MTR freezes, and you get some nasty sounds from the DVD.

    My guess is that Handbrake attempts to scan the info about the DVD, while MTR wants the heads of the DVD player elsewhere.

    It would be nice if Handbrake didn't access the DVD until you'd asked it to.

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  5. Steven Jackson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #5
    Sounds about right. The sounds made by the DVD drive are pretty worrying -- so much so that I don't want to try it again...

    Steve.
     
  6. blackbones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #6
    Noticed this too. While my machine doesnt crash, whenever there is a disc in the drive Handbrake slows to a crawl.

    I've been using mac the ripper, saving the video_TS files and then in the evening loading up handbrake's queue and converting over night.
     
  7. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #7
    Note that I've switched to using the HandBrakeCLI instead of the GUI (in an effort to reduce the number of rips with audio issues). It does not have the issue with accessing the DVD.

    So my workflow is now:

    MTR 3.0R14d to RIP Full Disk Extraction
    HandbrakeCLI SVN 555 to reencode for AppleTV

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  8. giffut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Try ...

    ... not to encode directly from the DVD drive/disc, but rip it first to your HD. The mechanical stress this is causing for the optical drive mechanism is too heavy and could lead to a fast and clean death of your drive, at least shorten its lifespan by quite a margin.

    Keep it simple: Rip > Crunch > Watch
     
  9. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #9
    I suggest you go to the Handbrake webpage and write a bugreport where you describe _exactly_ what you do. Unless you have experience as a software tester, best thing is to reboot your Mac and describe _every single step_ you do. Don't leave anything out because you think it is irrelevant. There is nothing more frustrating than looking for a bug that doesn't turn up because the person reporting it didn't describe his or her actions correctly.

    And you are sure that it isn't DVD player who is getting in the way?
     

Share This Page