RX 460 and High Sierra... Where do we stand?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DPUser, Aug 4, 2017.

  1. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #26
    I don't think a stock Apple card is really required.

    I update my firmware with the 7950 Mac Edition card. Despite it's a Mac Edition card, I flashed it myself because I want to fine tune the voltage, memory clock, etc. Therefore, practically it's a flashed card, not Apple stock card, not official licensed Apple card either.
     
  2. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #27
    I updated the firmware on a 2010 cMP using an unflashed GTX 1080.
    As h9826790 has stated, you definitely don't need an Apple card in there.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #28
    Any update? Does the 460 4gb work in high sierra?
     
  4. namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #29
    Yep!

    screenshotrx460.jpg
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #30
  6. namethisfile, Oct 5, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017

    namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #31
    It's not native in that it is not an official Mac RX 460 EFI card.

    It is still a PC non-efi card. But, it works OOB, plug it in and that's it. No editing KEXTS, or modifying anything.

    The only caveats like any non-efi card is that you don't get a boot screen and About This Mac says AMD R9 xxx."

    In High Sierra, the card even shows up now under System Report in PCI info. Whereas, prior in Sierra, it didn't.

    PS--I had a GTX 1070 in there but after the HS supplemental update, I decided to keep the RX 460 in there, instead, since I don't wanna have to worry about swapping in and out GPU's every time there is an OS update, or have to wait for Nvidia web drivers, etc.... I don't really need the extra GPU horsepower of the GTX 1070 and RX 460 suffices my needs at the moment. I feel like GTX 1070 is only skin deep anyway. Like, look, I have a GTX 1070 in my Mac Pro kind of thing without it really benefitting me. I didn't notice it being faster when editing in FCP X, TBH, versus the RX 460.... So, I'm sticking with the RX 460 since it's less of a headache. Maybe, down the road, when RX 580 prices come down to earth, I'll pick one up.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #32
    I was able to pick up a RX570 4GB for 230 from amazon due to what I have read, even better support. I would think that it is worth the premium from the 460
     
  8. Pablo0208 macrumors newbie

    Pablo0208

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #33
    Mac Pro 5.1 with HS & I can use an ASUS Radeon RX460 DUAL OC 2 GB GDDR5 AMD Graphics Card as a 2nd card only . It steadfastly refuse to boot the MacPro (need the helper card in a flashed XFX ATI7850 to ATI7950) to boot, then just switch the other monitor to see the screen. NO LUCK WITH THIS CARD
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Softsand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #34
    Well, after using a GT120 to do the HS upgrade, my Gigabyte RX460 still works perfectly with a 3 monitor setup (apart from no boot screen).
     
  10. DPUser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #35
    Summarizing to date, it seems established that the Sapphire and Gigabyte versions of the RX460 are working properly under High Sierra once HS is installed using an Apple EFi GPU.

    Asus looks like a no-go so far.
     
  11. Pablo0208 macrumors newbie

    Pablo0208

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #36
    one thing I noticed about the RX 460 cards, Gigabyte & sapphire only use half the lanes on a 16x lane socket, all the other use 16x lanes even though the RX460 cards are 8x lane .. I noticed this on images of each respective card
     

Share This Page