RX 460 and High Sierra... Where do we stand?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DPUser, Aug 4, 2017.

  1. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #26
    I don't think a stock Apple card is really required.

    I update my firmware with the 7950 Mac Edition card. Despite it's a Mac Edition card, I flashed it myself because I want to fine tune the voltage, memory clock, etc. Therefore, practically it's a flashed card, not Apple stock card, not official licensed Apple card either.
     
  2. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #27
    I updated the firmware on a 2010 cMP using an unflashed GTX 1080.
    As h9826790 has stated, you definitely don't need an Apple card in there.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #28
    Any update? Does the 460 4gb work in high sierra?
     
  4. namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #29
    Yep!

    screenshotrx460.jpg
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #30
  6. namethisfile, Oct 5, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017

    namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #31
    It's not native in that it is not an official Mac RX 460 EFI card.

    It is still a PC non-efi card. But, it works OOB, plug it in and that's it. No editing KEXTS, or modifying anything.

    The only caveats like any non-efi card is that you don't get a boot screen and About This Mac says AMD R9 xxx."

    In High Sierra, the card even shows up now under System Report in PCI info. Whereas, prior in Sierra, it didn't.

    PS--I had a GTX 1070 in there but after the HS supplemental update, I decided to keep the RX 460 in there, instead, since I don't wanna have to worry about swapping in and out GPU's every time there is an OS update, or have to wait for Nvidia web drivers, etc.... I don't really need the extra GPU horsepower of the GTX 1070 and RX 460 suffices my needs at the moment. I feel like GTX 1070 is only skin deep anyway. Like, look, I have a GTX 1070 in my Mac Pro kind of thing without it really benefitting me. I didn't notice it being faster when editing in FCP X, TBH, versus the RX 460.... So, I'm sticking with the RX 460 since it's less of a headache. Maybe, down the road, when RX 580 prices come down to earth, I'll pick one up.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #32
    I was able to pick up a RX570 4GB for 230 from amazon due to what I have read, even better support. I would think that it is worth the premium from the 460
     
  8. Pablo0208 macrumors newbie

    Pablo0208

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #33
    Mac Pro 5.1 with HS & I can use an ASUS Radeon RX460 DUAL OC 2 GB GDDR5 AMD Graphics Card as a 2nd card only . It steadfastly refuse to boot the MacPro (need the helper card in a flashed XFX ATI7850 to ATI7950) to boot, then just switch the other monitor to see the screen. NO LUCK WITH THIS CARD
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Softsand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #34
    Well, after using a GT120 to do the HS upgrade, my Gigabyte RX460 still works perfectly with a 3 monitor setup (apart from no boot screen).
     
  10. DPUser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #35
    Summarizing to date, it seems established that the Sapphire and Gigabyte versions of the RX460 are working properly under High Sierra once HS is installed using an Apple EFi GPU.

    Asus looks like a no-go so far.
     
  11. Pablo0208 macrumors newbie

    Pablo0208

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #36
    one thing I noticed about the RX 460 cards, Gigabyte & sapphire only use half the lanes on a 16x lane socket, all the other use 16x lanes even though the RX460 cards are 8x lane .. I noticed this on images of each respective card
     
  12. Joseph Z, Nov 18, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017

    Joseph Z macrumors newbie

    Joseph Z

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #37
  13. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #38
    This is interesting, but did you perform any stress test and check the card's temperature? Flash a dual fans card's OC ROM to a fanless card seems a bit risky
     
  14. Joseph Z macrumors newbie

    Joseph Z

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #39
    Photoshop and surfing operates well for about a week, and GpuTest software stress test for about 20 mins, the card's temperature is normal, Expansion Slots Fan is enough to cool the graphic card.Gigabyte Rx 460 designed with dual fans is only for customer's expectation, there is no practical value.

    XFXmacPro.jpg
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #40
    If can run Furmark for 20min. I will say it’s definitely good enough for daily use. No one expect to use a RX460 for any high performance job anyway.

    This is a good finding of a true silent up to date OOTB GPU option.

    Anyway, why flash the card? The original XFX ROM doesnt work with the cMP?
     
  16. Joseph Z, Nov 19, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017

    Joseph Z macrumors newbie

    Joseph Z

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #41
    The original XFX ROM does not boot in my 5.1 mac pro running High Sierra 10.13.1.

    Does Furmark have a Mac edition?

    1.jpg
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #42
    Furmark is hide inside Mac version’s GPUTest. However, you can only stress the GPU, but not monitoring the temperature.

    For stress test and temperature monitoring. OCCT in Windows is still the best app IMO.
     
  18. Joseph Z, Nov 19, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017

    Joseph Z macrumors newbie

    Joseph Z

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #43
    While GpuTest software stress test, Open the computer case and monitoring the temperature by hand, no need for software just like the dual fans :D
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #44
    Haha, that’s true.

    In fact, for a card like RX460, may be a single larger cooler really work better than a smaller cooler with 2 fans on top.
     
  20. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #45
    I have the sapphire 4gb card and it works great. Only thing I noticed is the fans ramp up during video or anything more intensive then basic surfing. Annoying, I repasted it but no dice. I can live with it but it isn't as silent as the 1050ti I took out to put into my sleeper pc.
     
  21. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #46
    I can confirm issues with the passive XFX RX 460 - it does not stop boot for me, and shows up with link x4 and metal yes in device information, but will not show any outputs.

    I try to flash the noted Gigabyte ROM now and will report later.
     
  22. namethisfile, Dec 7, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017

    namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #47
    Ummm...

    10.3.2 broke sleep for me with my RX 460 and cMP.

    There was no issue in 10.3.1 with sleep nor earlier, nor in 10.2.6 and earlier.

    cMP doesn't go to sleep, lights will flash like it's asleep. But, the machine is still on. I also cannot wake it up from sleep and have to press and hold the power button to restart it.

    I wonder if this is just a bug or Apple intentionally restricting and inconveniencing ppl with these cards since they're not official?

    If it is a bug, will it get fixed?

    And, if it Apple's intention, then it means, indeed, "it was too good to be true."

    My cMP, is acting like a hackintosh, now. :(

    PS--Oops, when I said 10.3.2 or 10.3.1 in my post above, I meant 10.13.2 or 10.13.1....
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #48
    I think Hackintosh work better in some case, they can easily run any non flashed Nvidia card, can use 8700K and OC it, also very easy to boot from NVMe SSD.

    Anyway, if I were you, I will just report it to Apple. I reported a Handoff issue to them. Even though they told me my Mac is not suppose to support Handoff, but they do indeed try to fix it.
     
  24. namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #49
    How do you report it? And, if I mention sleep is broken with RX 460, they'd be like, of course, it is?
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #50
    bugreport.apple.com
     

Share This Page