RX 580 won't boot macOS on MP 3.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Saaihead, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. Saaihead, Nov 10, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018

    Saaihead macrumors newbie

    Saaihead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    #1
    I run 10.13.6 on a 3.1 Mac Pro. Before I had a GTX 1060 in here, but by accident I installed the update to 17G3025 so that card stopped working. Due to the absence of new Nvidia drivers I decided to sell this card and purchase a RX 580. Also because I wanted to upgrade to 10.14 Mojave later on.

    The exact device I purchased: Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 4GD5 (11265-09)

    But now, when I start up my computer, the screen stays black. (I knew no bootscreen would appear) And where usually the login screen appears, I get a white screen for a few seconds. After that it gets dark again for a few seconds, and white again and this goes on forever. Luckily I have a Bootcamp partition so I could check if it worked in Windows. That worked like a charm, so no issues at all. But I can't find a way on how to get it working in High Sierra.

    What I tried till now:

    - I had a 6-pins pcie connector plugged into the 8-pins on the videocard, so I added a 6-pins to 8-pins adapter so the other two pins had power too. Still, no difference. I know a proper 2x 6-pins to 1x 8-pins adapter should be better, but since it works in Windows (also when gaming) I don't think the power is an issue.
    - I checked the product ID (0x67DF1002) in windows and checked if it was listed in the kext (AMD9500Controller.kext), and it was.
    - Filevault is OFF.
    - The original BIOS is loaded, also checked this with the seller.
    - I checked all ports: DVI, 2x DP, 2x HDMI - they all result in the same slow blinking screen. (however, when using DVI the white screen is a bit green)
    - Enabled screen sharing, and tried to see if I would be able to connect to it via vnc. I got a login prompt once, but couldn't connect.
    - Added an old 8800 GT, together with the RX 580 and tried to boot. I got the bootscreen, and the progress bar but that never finishes and I got into a boot loop in this configuration.

    I'm not sure what to do next. Does anybody has an idea? Any help will be really appreciated. :)
     
  2. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Can't run an RX 580 in a MP3,1...AMD driver for it needs SSE4.2, which the Xeons in the MP3,1 do not have.
     
  3. Saaihead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Saaihead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    #3
    Thanks for your reply! I hope you're kidding me right? Haha, well f*ck me. So if there is no other way to get this working, which cards are supported? Or could a processor upgrade do?
     
  4. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #4
  5. MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I didn’t think you could run Mojave on a 3.1 also.
     
  6. Saaihead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Saaihead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    #6
    That's just too bad. So for now I'm stuck in Windows, at least I'm able to play games. And I'll be on the lookout for a 4.1 or 5.1 for christmas.

    And it is possible to run Mojave on a 3.1, but you need a patcher. I actually had it on there for a couple of days to see how it would perform without graphics acceleration. I had to put in a new Wi-Fi / BT card, but besides the crappy graphics it worked fine.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^You could put your GTX 1060 back in and update to the latest web driver for build (17G3025). Available here:

    https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/139585/en-us

    Although, some folks have had issues with the GTX 1060. AFAIK, no issues with the GTX 1070 or 1080. I am running a GTX 1080 in my 5,1 cMP.

    Lou
     
  8. Saaihead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Saaihead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    #8
    Thanks for replying Lou. The thing is, I already sold my GTX 1060... haha.
     
  9. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #9
    I had a Sapphire Rx480 in my 3.1. That worked nice with patched High Sierra.
     
  10. Saaihead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Saaihead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    #10
    Oh really? And what patch are you talking about?
     

Share This Page