• Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

scorpion

macrumors newbie
May 1, 2002
25
0
Arlington, VA
Safari and printing

The biggest difference for me is the printing -- it finally works!

And my banking works just fine -- has since 1.1.
 
Comment

jholzner

macrumors 65816
Jul 24, 2002
1,384
0
Champaign, IL
I want Safari to support the viewing of PDFs in the browser and nativly. I use the PDF plug-in now but I can't print PDFs from the browser...I just get blank pages.
 
Comment

griz

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2003
581
221
New London, NH
Now if they would only fix the issue of having to use Internet Explorer for online banking.
With no IE updates coming and Safari unable to be used for my online transactions, I get increasing apprehensive about continuing to do "secure" online activity with IE.Safari needs to do everything 100% as well as IE or else it will never completely replace it. Sooner or later people will either be forced to stop doing secure online business where IE is required or we will all need two machines, one with Windows and IE and our Macs with Safari. Sooner or later, someone is going to exploit a gaping hole in IE5 for Mac and we will be forced to fully retire it.
 
Comment

DGFan

macrumors 6502a
Mar 28, 2003
531
0
And, conveniently, it also screws up some websites that had been working properly prior to 1.2 (and do work properly in gecko-based, IE, etc...)

nfldraftblitz is one such site. The text is all gone now!!!
 
Comment

Frobozz

macrumors demi-god
Jul 24, 2002
1,141
90
South Orange, NJ
Originally posted by jholzner
I want Safari to support the viewing of PDFs in the browser and nativly. I use the PDF plug-in now but I can't print PDFs from the browser...I just get blank pages.

Why not use the Preview application? It's much faster and prints just fine.
 
Comment

tileeater

macrumors newbie
Oct 27, 2003
5
0
what about the new bugs?

i've got 2 macs running panther and safari 1.2 both have the same tabs issue. it's impossible to tell if a tab will open or if it will decide not to show up. this is only an issue when 'always show tab bar' is not checked.

occasionally (pretty often actually) the tab bar just decides to stay hidden.
 
Comment

Frobozz

macrumors demi-god
Jul 24, 2002
1,141
90
South Orange, NJ
Originally posted by DGFan
And, conveniently, it also screws up some websites that had been working properly prior to 1.2 (and do work properly in gecko-based, IE, etc...)

nfldraftblitz is one such site. The text is all gone now!!!

Before jumping to conclusions about Safari being to blame, you might want to do some snooping on the site. It might be a Safari bug, or it might be a web site bug that, up until now, Safari was able to make up for the incorrect code.

A little known fact about Mozilla, and many other browsers, is that they have multiple render modes for HTML. They look at the structure of the document, the DTD, and any legacy support and will render a page in either "Standards Compliance Mode" or "Quirks Mode." If the web site was able to fool Safari into thinking it was Standards compliant, but it was actually Quirky (wrong), then you _might_ end up with what you are seeing.
 
Comment

Frobozz

macrumors demi-god
Jul 24, 2002
1,141
90
South Orange, NJ
Originally posted by griz
Now if they would only fix the issue of having to use Internet Explorer for online banking.
With no IE updates coming and Safari unable to be used for my online transactions, I get increasing apprehensive about continuing to do "secure" online activity with IE.Safari needs to do everything 100% as well as IE or else it will never completely replace it. Sooner or later people will either be forced to stop doing secure online business where IE is required or we will all need two machines, one with Windows and IE and our Macs with Safari. Sooner or later, someone is going to exploit a gaping hole in IE5 for Mac and we will be forced to fully retire it.

You need to write the authors of the web site. There is no reason why Safari can't run any banking web site out there. It's the result of legacy code either not identifying the feature set of a browser correctly, or simply blocking anything but a small subset of browsers.

Web programmers often make the mistake of coding a page to only work in IE, when all they really want to say (in their code) is that they require feature "X". When a new browser comes out that supports feature "X", but is blocked in the scripts instead of asking if the browser supports feature "X", you get the problem you're seeing on your bank web sites.

So write the web site and kindly ask them to get their act together. In Safari's defense, I can log on to my banking web sites... and they total 5 individual vendors.
 
Comment

gwuMACaddict

macrumors 68040
Apr 21, 2003
3,124
0
washington dc
Originally posted by griz
Now if they would only fix the issue of having to use Internet Explorer for online banking.

i bank with wachovia just fine with safari... manage multiple accounts and transfer money between, pay bills and use it for an ameritrade account....
 
Comment

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
15,639
3
キャンプスワ&#
Safari looking like IE...

Originally posted by griz
Now if they would only fix the issue of having to use Internet Explorer for online banking.
With no IE updates coming and Safari unable to be used for my online transactions, I get increasing apprehensive about continuing to do "secure" online activity with IE.Safari needs to do everything 100% as well as IE or else it will never completely replace it. Sooner or later people will either be forced to stop doing secure online business where IE is required or we will all need two machines, one with Windows and IE and our Macs with Safari. Sooner or later, someone is going to exploit a gaping hole in IE5 for Mac and we will be forced to fully retire it.
You might try adding the debug menu to Safari.

Then select the USER AGENT as IE something (Mac 5.2 or Win 6.0). Or just have Safari select automatically.

I found that most sites that didn't work because they check for IE, now do because Safari looks like IE.

Works for me! :)

...of course you could always respectfully suggest to the sites that don't work that maybe they could alter their code to allow Safari to work.

Sushi
 
Comment

Spock

macrumors 68020
Jan 6, 2002
2,356
2,987
Vulcan
Re: Safari looking like IE...

Originally posted by sushi

...of course you could always respectfully suggest to the sites that don't work that maybe they could alter their code to allow Safari to work.

Sushi

Thats funny, and if we ask the game companys respectfully that they will port all games to the mac at the same time it comes out for the PC
 
Comment

batmanppc

macrumors newbie
Feb 10, 2004
1
0
Originally posted by jholzner
I want Safari to support the viewing of PDFs in the browser and nativly. I use the PDF plug-in now but I can't print PDFs from the browser...I just get blank pages.

Safari can't print anything that's being viewed through plugins afaik. You can print PDF from safari by bringing up the contextual menu on the pdf (control-click) or use the menu triangle right above the vertical scrollbar.
 
Comment

SilentPanda

Moderator emeritus
Oct 8, 2002
9,992
31
The Bamboo Forest
Re: Safari looking like IE...

Originally posted by sushi
Then select the USER AGENT as IE something (Mac 5.2 or Win 6.0). Or just have Safari select automatically.

I've thought about doing this but at the same time... I want them to know that I'm using Safari. If every browser identifies itself as IE then why *should* they write code for standards compliant browsers if they think you're using IE? I would suggest that you run it identifying as Safari and if it doesn't work, try it identifying as IE. If that works then e-mail the webmaster to get them to change it. Then switch it back to Safari.
 
Comment

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
15,639
3
キャンプスワ&#
Re: Re: Safari looking like IE...

Originally posted by SilentPanda
I've thought about doing this but at the same time... I want them to know that I'm using Safari. If every browser identifies itself as IE then why *should* they write code for standards compliant browsers if they think you're using IE? I would suggest that you run it identifying as Safari and if it doesn't work, try it identifying as IE. If that works then e-mail the webmaster to get them to change it. Then switch it back to Safari.
Agree.

Right now, I am letting Safari identify itself.

Only when I have a problem do I switch.

...well, sometimes I forget. But for the most part, that is what I do. And with the IE workaround, I haven't had trouble with any sites...knock on wood!

Sushi
 
Comment

DGFan

macrumors 6502a
Mar 28, 2003
531
0
Originally posted by Frobozz
Why not use the Preview application? It's much faster and prints just fine.

How do you get the PDF to show in Preview automatically? I would rather not have to hunt for it on the desktop and double-click it.
 
Comment

DGFan

macrumors 6502a
Mar 28, 2003
531
0
Originally posted by Frobozz
Before jumping to conclusions about Safari being to blame, you might want to do some snooping on the site. It might be a Safari bug, or it might be a web site bug that, up until now, Safari was able to make up for the incorrect code.

A little known fact about Mozilla, and many other browsers, is that they have multiple render modes for HTML. They look at the structure of the document, the DTD, and any legacy support and will render a page in either "Standards Compliance Mode" or "Quirks Mode." If the web site was able to fool Safari into thinking it was Standards compliant, but it was actually Quirky (wrong), then you _might_ end up with what you are seeing.

That's simply the cost of entry into the browser market. I work in the software industry and I know what a bug is - anything software does that doesn't meet the customer's expectations.
 
Comment

uv23

macrumors 6502
Nov 16, 2003
492
0
Calgary, AB
For the love of God, add cache control, Apple! Maybe it's a coincidence, but since installing 1.2 I have to constantly manually refresh most of the forums I visit to see updated threads and topics. Why can't they just add an option to check for a new version of a page each time, like every single other browser out there... *sigh*:rolleyes:
 
Comment

Photorun

macrumors 65816
Sep 1, 2003
1,216
0
NYC
I second those who had sites that worked fine before Safari 1.2 but now don't. I've found three such sites, one is JAVA intensive so it may be the JAVA update on that one.
 
Comment

tduality

macrumors member
Mar 11, 2003
86
0
Zurich, Switzerland
Originally posted by Photorun
I second those who had sites that worked fine before Safari 1.2 but now don't. I've found three such sites, one is JAVA intensive so it may be the JAVA update on that one.

Looks like I'm one of the happy guys who can use my internet banking and another Java heavy site since Safari 1.2 without any problems. Didn't work at all with Safari 1.1.
 
Comment

griz

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2003
581
221
New London, NH
Re: Safari looking like IE...

After switching to IE spoofing, my online banking works. Now that I know this. I will be sure to contact them to ask them to allow Safari users rather than having to spoof everytime I want to log on. The best part of this is knowing that I don't need to use IE anymore. WOOOOO HOOOOO!!! Do the dance of joy!!!!
 
Comment

andyduncan

macrumors regular
Jan 21, 2003
172
0
I love 1.2, but the decision to make the delete key function as a back button is the bane of my existence. I know thats how other browsers do it, but it's a poor design decision that shouldn't be repeated just because a vocal group of people want it.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.