Safari constantly times out when loading images...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by yayaba, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. yayaba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #1
    For some reason whenever I use Safari on my Macbook, it always times out on images on forums and such. It only loads about half the images in a page before it starts displaying the blue question mark blocks.

    When I use Firefox I don't have this problem... only on Safari. It's pretty annoying and because of that it's unusable for me. Has anyone encountered this before?

    It happens to me on Safari 2 and 3. I'm on Tiger 10.4.9.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Have you tried resetting Safari from the Safari menu? Have you got any system hacks, theme changers or Safari add ons installed? :)
     
  3. yayaba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #3
    I don't have any add ons or anything installed.

    I just tried resetting Safari and I thought it fixed it but it didn't.

    The problem only seems to appear when I try to load graphic intensive sites like forums that put 100 posts on one page with avatars and signatures. Otherwise with normal browsing, I don't see the issue.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, post an example site or page and I'll see what I can find. :)
     
  5. yayaba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #5
  6. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #6
    I had the same thing

    http://www.pixolator.com/zbc/featured2col.php

    I made a thread about it but a couple of others had no problem and that was that. Still can't load the whole page in one go. I feel sure it's a cache full issue but I can't see how to increase the cace.

    This is on a freshly installed OSX with no hacks.

    This is safari 3 beta

    EDIT: suddenly it has loaded for the first time, although I had to reload the page twice. Now that I check it couldn't be a cache it's only about 3-4 mb but 1000 thumbnails
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Both sites loaded completely, albeit a little slowly for me using Safari 2. I didn't need to refresh the pages. Safari doesn't have a set cache limit like many other browsers, so I'm not sure that's the problem but I could be wrong 'cause I so often am.

    Sometimes Safari finds it easier to load sites in an unselected tab. Click on the links you two provided whilst holding COMMAND and assuming you have tabs enabled, see if it loads with no errors. I'm not offering this as a solution so much as a test.

    Also, have either of you tried resetting Safari using the Safari menu? :)
     
  8. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #8
    Tried resetting, no luck. Tried the unselected tab thing and it crapped out half way through.

    Although it still does load (sometimes) after the second or third timeout.

    Edit, I could load the neogaf site no probs. I don't have safari 2 because I didn't bother keeping it. but FF loads it fine. I could try it in safari 2 on my old cloned drive.
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    Ditto
     
  10. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #10
    OK I just rebooted into Safari 2 and it loaded the Zbrush gallery in 2 mins 30 seconds, against FF's 4 mins 45 seconds

    That's Safari 2 on my old cluttered system with hacks, Safari 3 on my new system with no hacks can't handle it in one go.
     
  11. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #11
    I've got this issue as well; sometimes 90% of the images on a page will show up with a blue question mark instead of loading. I swore there was a setting for timeout, but I don't know where it is.
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    ur page of http://www.pixolator.com/zbc/featured2col.php loaded here

    on netscape 9.0 (with fasterfox extension installed, pipeline setting disable) in 55 seconds, 20 sec with pipeline enable.
    on safari 2.0.4 in 1min and 15 seconds
     
  13. skierdude macrumors member

    skierdude

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #13
    i know exactly how to fix your problem you just have to trash safari and go download mozzila firefox. it's way better than safari any way.
     
  14. Teddy's macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    Or try Camino, Opera... there are a lot of choices!
     
  15. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #15
    I should be clear that unlike the OP, I am only having this problem in Safari 3,

    does anyone else have 3 loaded to test it?

    on a side note I have just discovered that isquint won't work or crashes FF, with google street view unless it is at 100%.

    As I said, Safari 2 loads the page in 2' 30" against 4' 45" for FFox. It's Safari 3 that needs 2 or 3 reloads. But it is beta I suppose.
     
  16. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #16
    The beta app does have problems, I remember firefox (it was called phoenix at that time) 0.6 has same problem, because of time out, it gave up images after a while, its mostly a problem of network condition. Im sure safari 3's final version will solve this.

    again, as I said. on my MB, NS9 (FX2.0.0.4) with fasterfox loaded that page in 20 seconds against safari 2's 1 min 15 sec. (35 seconds with pipeline disable, I just tried again, cache already cleared)
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    Yeah, we can't really complain about betas behaving badly. ;)

    I reckon you might be onto something with the timing out issue though. I can't for the life of me remember how to change it from what I think is a default thirty seconds. I did it once before in Safari 1 so I'm not even sure if it'd still apply. I'll have to have a look 'round the tubes for a hint. :eek:
     
  18. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #18
    Christ on a bike, I just downloaded fasterfox and it loaded the 1000 thumbnails in 25 seconds. I thought you were referring to a netscape addon or does netscape take the same extensions?

    What's the catch though? do I have to give up my first born son or what.
     
  19. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  20. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #20
    netscape 9 is a slightly bloated firefox. they are using same extensions. :D

    basically, it just asks server for more connections.
     
  21. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #21

    Hold SHIFT as you refresh the page to test it without accessing cache, if you haven't already. :)



    The catch.
     
  22. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #22
    didn't know about the shift thing, but I did clear the cache manually before the 25 second thing.

    EDIT: I meant what's the catch *for me*, I don't mind as long as *they* pay the bandwidth. ;¬)
     
  23. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  24. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #24
    pre-fetching is automatically downloading initial links on a page in background, which does not affect when u input a link in the address bar.

    there are two parts for fastersfox, each increase the speed by almost 100%, one of them, called pipelining, needs support from server. and apparently that image website supports it.

    some tricks from Mozilla.org
     
  25. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #25

    Well you pay for your own bandwidth too. The effect won't hit you too hard but it will mean your browser is downloading a lot more than it normally would, irrespective of whether you ever see the data. Depending on how good your connection is and what other apps you use, this may or may not be a problem. :)



    Not quite sure what you're saying here mate, sorry. It's probably too late for my small brain to be trundling up and down MacRumors anyway. :eek:

    Pipelining is one of the oldest tricks in the book. You can manually implement it on most browsers. As far as I remember, only Opera has it enabled by default.
     

Share This Page