Samsung SSD 850 pro

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Hello everyone !
I need your help , i lost 274$ for harddisk which cannot be used with my macbook pro early 2011
Once the harddisk connected with my macbook and i insert the installation cd ! It was only for windows , EXE only !

Please can you help me with software i can use ?

*Amazon seller told me that i can use it with professional support .


Thank you for your time !
 

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
6,725
230
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
Hello everyone !
I need your help , i lost 274$ for harddisk which cannot be used with my macbook pro early 2011
Once the harddisk connected with my macbook and i insert the installation cd ! It was only for windows , EXE only !

Please can you help me with software i can use ?

*Amazon seller told me that i can use it with professional support .


Thank you for your time !
Why do you need an installation CD for? Just use Disk Utility and reformat the drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and you're done.

A hard drive is a hard drive. There is no such thing as hard drives for Windows or Mac only. Just format it and they can work on either one.
 

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Thank you for your quick reply !
I tried to do that in disk utility but the hard disk didn't appear !
So I insert the installation cd

Oh yeah by the way ! I tried it on macbook white , do you think it's not supported by macbook white??
 

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
6,725
230
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
Thank you for your quick reply !
I tried to do that in disk utility but the hard disk didn't appear !
So I insert the installation cd

Oh yeah by the way ! I tried it on macbook white , do you think it's not supported by macbook white??
You do not need the installation CD. Throw it away.

Does the old disk work? If it does, then maybe it won't play nice with older white MacBooks (2008 and earlier), because these white MBs only use SATA 1 (1.5 Gb/s) connections.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bobcan

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
The cd works and it had a software (EXE) which only supports Windows ! What i have done is , i put the SSD into disk drive case using USB port ! But i couldn't reach to it so i tried the CD ,also the installation guide steps has cd installation step . About the macbook white i used is early 2011
Thank you .
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,540
2,305
Delaware
Yes, the CD won't help you. There's no reason to try it, as the .exe can't run on your Macbook while running OS X.
As ychua95 said, your best choice is to throw the CD out - trash it...
If you have not tried installing the SSD in your MacBook, then you should try that.
It's possible that your external USB just won't "talk" to the SSD.
If you need to transfer files and apps from your old hard drive, then it may work by putting the hard drive in your external USB case, after swapping your new SSD into the MacBook (replacing the hard drive completely.)
You can then boot to your hard drive (now in an external case), where you can use your Disk Utility to erase (format) your SSD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bobcan

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Thank you deltamac !
This is new for me , i can boot noramally from my old hard drive with USB ? And put the ssd inside ?

One more thing , finally i could open my ssd with other macbook pro 2013 ! As external hard drive and i erase the format to mac os extended .. And i can save files on it (like any external harddrive) but once i put it back to my macbook pro and replace it with my old hdd and restart my computer with bootable usb ! It's stop on apple logo ... Now i'm tryiny to restore the usb againe ! (Maybe the problem in the usb?? Or what )
 

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
Thank you deltamac !
This is new for me , i can boot noramally from my old hard drive with USB ? And put the ssd inside ?

finally i could open my ssd with other macbook pro 2013 ! As external hard drive and i erase the format to mac os extended .. And i can save files on it (like any external harddrive) but once i put it back to my macbook pro and replace it with my old hdd and restart my computer with bootable usb ! It's stop on apple logo
Yes, you can boot your Mac with your old drive in the USB enclosure.

Your problem may be that you reformatted the SSD but you did not repartition it. Attach it to the other Mac again by USB.
This will erase any files you have copied onto it.
In Disk Utility, choose the Samsung SSD's icon (not the volume you created on it, but the icon of the Samsung drive itself). Double check that you have selected the SSD. Then under the Partition tab change tfrom "Current Partition" to 1 Partition. Choose the Option button at the bottom. Change the Partition Map type from MBR which it currently is, to GUID, which is the only partition type that you can use as a bootable Macintosh drive. Then go ahead and partition it, it will create a new formatted volume at the same time.

Then reinstall in your original machine, and put your old drive into the USB case. Boot from the old drive by holding the Option key down through startup and select that drive. You can now clone your old drive to the new one if you want, with Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper. Or if you boot from the OSX install DVD or USB media, you can instal OSX fresh, and tell it to import your Applications, Users and Data from the original drive.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bobcan

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
This is great ! But unfortunately my old drive and system has s problem and becuse of that i change the hard drive , and just before a few minutes i made a copy by carbon copy and it works ! But i forget the main thing which i copied a damaged system (mu old system in old hard drive ) ! I have now two bad hard drives with sick systems !
What can i do now ?
I have installation cd from apple store but it doesn't work !
So i made bootable usb and it is not booting ! When i entered to my account (as normal) i run the system from the usb (like an application ) and then restart the computer , now it's not working
I can only entered to the save boot !

Any suggestion ? Solutions please?
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,540
2,305
Delaware
It's quite common for the internal hard drive ribbon cable to fail. You moved it around to put the SSD in place. So, you might want to try replacing that ribbon cable.

In addition, your Snow Leopard DVD, if you purchased it from Apple online store, may not work, even though your MBPro came with that system originally. You MUST use the original DVD that came with your MBPro, if you want to install directly to your 2011 MBPRo. The version in the commercial Snow Leopard DVD was never updated past 10.6.3, and models that came with a later 10.6 version, like 10.6.6, etc, can't boot to the 10.6.3 version. Your MBPro would have shipped originally with the correct DVD, and won't install on other Mac models.
 
Last edited:

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Deltamac !
Thank you ,
About my macbook pro 2011 has no installation and software dvds
Maybe the earlier one !
My original system is 10.6.8!
And i bought 10.6.3
Also i download 10.6.3
So you think becuse it's older version of mine i can't use it on mine !
But i couldn't find the exact version !
I'm thinking about Mac os x lion ...

Thanks .
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,540
2,305
Delaware
Yes, you are correct about the older version of Snow Leopard.
You can purchase a download of the Lion installer direct from Apple.

I think you may prefer Mountain Lion, which is also available from Apple.

To download your purchase, either version will need a Mac that is running OS X, with at least Snow Leopard, and one that is capable of booting to Lion or Mountain Lion.
 

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Yes, you are correct about the older version of Snow Leopard.
You can purchase a download of the Lion installer direct from Apple.

I think you may prefer Mountain Lion, which is also available from Apple.

To download your purchase, either version will need a Mac that is running OS X, with at least Snow Leopard, and one that is capable of booting to Lion or Mountain Lion.
What is the different between mountain lion and lion ?
Which one is the newest?
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,540
2,305
Delaware
Here's an article that hits the high spots comparing Lion to Mountain Lion:
http://www.everymac.com/mac-answers/os-x-mountain-lion-faq/os-x-mountain-lion-pros-and-cons.html

The internet recovery doesn't give you any choice. It will offer you one version.
You will find out which one when you try the install.
Some have said it will be the version that came with your MBPro, but of course, that's not correct for you.
Lion is OS X 10.7
Mountain Lion is one generation newer - 10.8
Then there's 10.9 - Mavericks
Latest at this date is Yosemite - 10.10
 

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Thank you so much Deltamac !
This is useful information !
Now I'm downloading OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5 , I think it is the best choice as long as the mountain lion support my macbook .

I'll try it .
 

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
hello againe .
i made all the steps perfectly but i got the same problem in my old hard drive !
while booting a blue screen appear and it keeps appearing and then i restart and use save boot
now after changing the hard drivr (ssd) and use bootable usb os mountine lion . everything was good
after the apple logo and when mac os utilities suppose to appear the blue screen start
so i wonder where is the problem , why this is happen againe although i changed the hard drive (i have made carbon copy on it from the old hard drive yesterday but i erase it now )

 

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
6,725
230
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
hello againe .
i made all the steps perfectly but i got the same problem in my old hard drive !
while booting a blue screen appear and it keeps appearing and then i restart and use save boot
now after changing the hard drivr (ssd) and use bootable usb os mountine lion . everything was good
after the apple logo and when mac os utilities suppose to appear the blue screen start
so i wonder where is the problem , why this is happen againe although i changed the hard drive (i have made carbon copy on it from the old hard drive yesterday but i erase it now )

This is an early 2011 15", isn't it?

If that's the case, then you have a Radeongate failure.
 

Imagination.99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2015
17
0
Not the screen, but the AMD Radeon graphics card itself. It's covered under a recall program.
Ooh i see !
I read about it , it seems to be the problem (blue screen after apple loading page+over heat)


So it's not because of the RAMs
What i can do now ?