Screen flickering 2016 13" NTB macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by woody_nz, Feb 7, 2017.

  1. woody_nz macrumors newbie

    woody_nz

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I have an almost new 2016 macbook pro 13" non touch bar and i am finding i see allot of black flickering when watching videos in full screen. Its running the latest updates and the latest flash player/browser ect what could be causing it? A gpu issue? this is already a replacement as the first one i bought had to go back as the keyboard didn't work properly, not having much luck with these new mbp's
    here is a link to a video from my phone of the screen flickering.
    Thanks
    Matt
     
  2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    It's only full screen? Someone else mentioned some kind of glitch they were having only in full screen. You'd think a hardware issue would show whether full screen or not. It's not as though it's that taxing to the iGPU. Weird.

    Have you talked to Apple yet?
     
  3. woody_nz thread starter macrumors newbie

    woody_nz

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3

    Havent taken it back in yet as i need it at the moment, when i sent the last one back with a dodgy keyboard it was a 2 week wait. It only seems to do the flicker thing in full screen so i was thinking software issue but the laptop i took back with the shoddy keyboard never had this problem so maybe it is hardware.
     
  4. NicktheNorse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    I'm having the same issue on a 13" TB, though only when running Firefox.

    Any update to your problem woody_nz?
     
  5. ewkid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #5
    My 2016 none touch bar does the exact same thing as the OP. Even if i pause the video the flicker will persist. Any update on yours woody_nx? I'm wondering if this is a hardware issue.
     
  6. woody_nz thread starter macrumors newbie

    woody_nz

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    No update as of yet, its still doing it
     
  7. Calby macrumors 6502

    Calby

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Location:
    Sweden, Gävle
    #7
    Well I think it's hardware issue.
    Bring it in to apple store they can run diagnostic and if needed replace the logic board.
    It use to take 2-3 days, much better then a week.
     
  8. Chicane-UK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #8
    Sorry about your issues.. just wanted to say Mighty Car Mods is awesome :)
     
  9. NicktheNorse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #9
    I only have the problem when running fullscreen video in Firefox. If i disable hardware acceleration in the browser, the problem goes away.

    No problem with full screen video in Safari.
     
  10. laura17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    #10
    Just watched your video. Mine is doing the same thing and I am on #2. First one returned a bit over a week ago. 2nd one arrived Wed, I had a busy week so barely used it, haven't even set up email yet and it is doing it too. I have an appt tomorrow. I am so frustrated with this. I too took video (from first machine and now this one) and it is identical to your issue.
     
  11. laura17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    #11
    Just returned from genius bar. They took my computer, again and refunded it, putting amount on a gift card. I now will be ordering a 3rd one. Seriously thinking about waiting a week or two. I had multiple videos again and it put on quite a show for them when I was there, probably the worst one so far. Sounds like they are aware there is an issue but feel I have had rotten luck with two of them. Here's hoping this next one is ok! I would be interested to see what specs are on the machines that everyone has doing this. Both of mine were the same, a pretty loaded 13" upgraded pretty fully.
     
  12. ewkid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #12
    Thanks so much! This resolved my issue.
     

Share This Page