Second Beta of tvOS 12 Now Available for Registered Developers

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Original poster
Apr 12, 2001
48,173
9,697



Apple today seeded the second beta of a new tvOS 12 operating system to developers for testing purposes, two weeks after releasing the first beta following the 2018 Worldwide Developers Conference keynote.

Designed for the fourth and fifth-generation Apple TV, the new tvOS 12 developer beta can be downloaded onto the Apple TV via a profile that's installed using Xcode. Subsequent betas can be downloaded via the software update mechanism on the Apple TV.


tvOS 12 brings support for Dolby Atmos sound. Apple says that iTunes will be home to the largest collection of Dolby Atmos-supported movies anywhere, with Apple upgrading titles customers have purchased for free.

Building on single sign-on, a new zero sign-on feature will further simplify the cable authentication process. With zero sign-on, the Apple TV can detect a user's broadband network and automatically sign them into supported apps they receive through their cable subscription.

Aerial screensavers include location information and there are new screensavers captured in collaboration with the International Space Station.

Other improvements to Apple TV in tvOS 12 include AutoFill passwords from iPhone, an Apple TV Remote automatically added to Control Center on the iPhone or iPad, and Apple TV support on Home control systems like Control4, Crestron, and Savant.

tvOS 12 is available for developers for testing purposes and will be available as a public beta later this month ahead of a fall public release.

Article Link: Second Beta of tvOS 12 Now Available for Registered Developers
 

shurcooL

macrumors 6502a
Jan 24, 2011
924
98
No Netflix support yet, yeah?

What about in iTunes? Anyone have an Atmos-capable sound system, how does it sound?
 
Comment

Front_242

macrumors newbie
Jun 19, 2018
10
16
If I have the Apple TV 4K which will support Dolby Atmos does my TV need to support it to if I don't use their built-in speakers?
My LG TV model has a built-in decoder for the internal speakers, but if you set it in a conventional TV (without an Atmos decoder like mine) and a Home Theater (with Atmos support) I'm pretty sure you can.
 
  • Like
Reactions: shurcooL
Comment

Tokenfreak

macrumors 6502
Oct 31, 2011
480
239
No. Not if you aren't sending the audio to the tv. Typically you'd run it in a receiver.
My LG TV model has a built-in decoder for the internal speakers, but if you set it in a conventional TV (without an Atmos decoder like mine) and a Home Theater (with Atmos support) I'm pretty sure you can.

Ok thanks for the information guys so I should be good then.
 
Comment

Colonel Badger

macrumors 6502
Jun 30, 2008
351
38
Blade Runner 2049 from iTunes Store, LG OLED TV with built-in ATMOS decoder. YES!
Wait so is the raw bitstream being sent to your receiver for Atmos Decoding or is Apple TV attempting to decode the stream ?
[doublepost=1529435151][/doublepost]Anybody who has a Apple TV 4 confirm that Atmos is available as an option? or is it only for the AppleTV 4K ?
 
Comment

mikevangorkom

macrumors newbie
Jul 8, 2014
15
7
Atmos working great through my Sony receiver! Not getting Atmos through the VUDU app or Netflix yet, but working perfectly on a few AppleTV titles. Hacksaw Ridge sounds super impressive!
 
  • Like
Reactions: shurcooL
Comment

Colonel Badger

macrumors 6502
Jun 30, 2008
351
38
Atmos working great through my Sony receiver! Not getting Atmos through the VUDU app or Netflix yet, but working perfectly on a few AppleTV titles. Hacksaw Ridge sounds super impressive!
What if you enable Atmos and then select a title that has regular Dolby Digital? Do you get the Bitstream to your receiver now, or does it go back to sending PCM (as it does in tvOS 11) ?
 
Comment

mikevangorkom

macrumors newbie
Jul 8, 2014
15
7
What if you enable Atmos and then select a title that has regular Dolby Digital? Do you get the Bitstream to your receiver now, or does it go back to sending PCM (as it does in tvOS 11) ?
It sends PCM. I have Dolby Atmos = ON and Convert Format = OFF.
 
Comment

justperry

macrumors G4
Aug 10, 2007
10,465
5,861
I'm a rolling stone.
How about making the AppleTV relevant in most parts of the world where it's available.
I have one and is mostly useless except as a Homekit capable(server) device.
 
Comment

benji888

macrumors 68000
Sep 27, 2006
1,782
361
United States
Atmos working great through my Sony receiver! Not getting Atmos through the VUDU app or Netflix yet, but working perfectly on a few AppleTV titles. Hacksaw Ridge sounds super impressive!
It sends PCM. I have Dolby Atmos = ON and Convert Format = OFF.
So, your AVR is getting a DD+ Atmos signal? What exactly is it?

My question is how is Apple implementing this, bit streaming the content only or mixing with system sounds like the other options, and is the end result DD+ Atmos or something else?
[doublepost=1529441164][/doublepost]>One more question: any developers with ATV 4th generation (not 4K) getting the Dolby Atmos option in the beta?
 
Comment

macpeach55

macrumors 6502
So, your AVR is getting a DD+ Atmos signal? What exactly is it?

My question is how is Apple implementing this, bit streaming the content only or mixing with system sounds like the other options, and is the end result DD+ Atmos or something else?
[doublepost=1529441164][/doublepost]>One more question: any developers with ATV 4th generation (not 4K) getting the Dolby Atmos option in the beta?
Me too - I am interested in what your receiver says it is receiving
 
Comment

asriggs1987

macrumors newbie
Jun 19, 2018
2
0
I updated my Apple TV 4K and I have the Atmos option but it doesn’t seem to me that any titles have been updated. My receiver is still just getting standard Dolby PCM surround. I have an Onkyo TX-NR757 which supports Atmos.
 
Comment

NMF

macrumors 6502a
Oct 27, 2011
877
20
So, your AVR is getting a DD+ Atmos signal? What exactly is it?

My question is how is Apple implementing this, bit streaming the content only or mixing with system sounds like the other options, and is the end result DD+ Atmos or something else?
[doublepost=1529441164][/doublepost]>One more question: any developers with ATV 4th generation (not 4K) getting the Dolby Atmos option in the beta?
If the Apple TV is doing the decoding then the receiver will just say "multi channel in" or something similar. You only see "Dolby Atmos" (etc.) if the audio is being bitstreamed and the receiver is doing its own decoding.

There's no way to know if the ATV will be able to decode TrueHD Atmos (from local media files) until a dev like Firecore digs into the new API's.
 
  • Like
Reactions: snooksy83
Comment

archer75

macrumors 68030
Jan 26, 2005
2,850
1,401
Oregon
I updated my Apple TV 4K and I have the Atmos option but it doesn’t seem to me that any titles have been updated. My receiver is still just getting standard Dolby PCM surround. I have an Onkyo TX-NR757 which supports Atmos.
Did you turn the atmos option on in settings? I know bladerunner 2149 and hacksaw ridge both have atmos based upon what others are saying.
 
Comment

benji888

macrumors 68000
Sep 27, 2006
1,782
361
United States
If the Apple TV is doing the decoding then the receiver will just say "multi channel in" or something similar. You only see "Dolby Atmos" (etc.) if the audio is being bitstreamed and the receiver is doing its own decoding.

There's no way to know if the ATV will be able to decode TrueHD Atmos (from local media files) until a dev like Firecore digs into the new API's.
I was asking someone that actually has the beta 2 on their ATV and has an Atmos AVR. I will not say "multi channel" for Atmos, PCM does not support metadata.
 
Comment

asriggs1987

macrumors newbie
Jun 19, 2018
2
0
Did you turn the atmos option on in settings? I know bladerunner 2149 and hacksaw ridge both have atmos based upon what others are saying.
Ya I turned the setting on. I don’t have those titles but I’ve tried other titles that have Atmos on the corresponding blu ray but the receiver still just says multi channel Dolby surround.
 
Comment

archer75

macrumors 68030
Jan 26, 2005
2,850
1,401
Oregon
It's DD+ with atmos. There's no way to know how apple is mixing in system sounds but the dolby spec requires the audio be unaltered. So whether they mix in system sounds or not the audio is the same.
[doublepost=1529443992][/doublepost]
Ya I turned the setting on. I don’t have those titles but I’ve tried other titles that have Atmos on the corresponding blu ray but the receiver still just says multi channel Dolby surround.
I imagine it's because they haven't setup atmos for every release yet. I bet it takes quite a while.
 
Comment

benji888

macrumors 68000
Sep 27, 2006
1,782
361
United States
It's DD+ with atmos. There's no way to know how apple is mixing in system sounds but the dolby spec requires the audio be unaltered. So whether they mix in system sounds or not the audio is the same.

But, when Apple does mix system sounds, what they do is decode, mix, re-encode PCM. I am wondering if Apple is passing the audio for the content only while the content is playing, this would be the better option, but, not likely.
[doublepost=1529444359][/doublepost]Look what I found:

Full list: 4K HDR (Dolby Vision) & Dolby Atmos movies on iTunes
https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1505495519

This list was started for 4K titles to show what HDR format is being used, surely there will be at least some (if not many) 1080p titles with Dolby Atmos, wondering if this list will include those or not.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.