Secure Erase Free space Failed with error:Could not create temporary file

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Marissa Gamble, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. Marissa Gamble macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #1
    I have a Power Mac G5 April Early 2005, Mac OS 10.5.8 dual 2.0 GHz. I was using monolungual program to delete a lot of languages on the MacPro G5 to do Secure Erase 7 Pass. The main thing I was doing this is to do the 7 pass to sell the mac, but it said that the startup disk was full and to delete files.. I did my research and it said to do the monolingual to delete more GB to do the 7 pass on secure erase.. I am not all that great on macs.. and my mistake that i did the monolingual and it took about 5-6 hrs and wasn't done and decided to hit cancel . Assuming that it wouldn't effect the mac at all. Ever since I did that now my search with the magnifer dissappeared and other things won't work properly.. I am trying to sell it to a friend.. it was givin to us with no software or Cds. I went back to try to do the 7 pass secure erase but it says secure Erase Free space Failed with error: Could not create temporary file.. I am trying to really search online to get the monolingual back or some things to fix the mac.. but I am not smart on that at all.. Can someone please help? Is there away to fix this issue? I am stumped.
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    why on earth would you erase the only hdd you have with no install cd?


    you need to buy a software hdd. then do a fresh install with it.
     
  3. Marissa Gamble thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #3
    what do you mean buy a software hdd? what is that.. I mostly use Windows XP .. I don't know anything about Macs. Isn't there another way to recovery this? There has to be.. i beieve there is.. but feel very unsafe to do on my own and not purchase anythin I reearched you can recovery disk utility or remove sparse image file and the root of something.. ,.. i really can't afford a hdd. Another company - i thought they were legit, but i guess they weren't, and how do I do a fresh install? please explain more further? please .. there has to be a diffferent way to recovery this and other options to fix. please someone help me? seriosly without buying another hdd or install new software. i really can't do that.
     

Share This Page