Seriously considering dropping out of high school

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Dmac77, Jul 19, 2010.

1. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

Dmac77

As the title says, I am really thinking about dropping out.

It's not that I'm a lazy/bad student, in fact I'm the exact opposite (3.4 GPA, taking multiple AP classes, honor role, top 20% of a class of 500, etc.); it's the fact that I am bored with school, and I've just realized that I will never use 95% of the crap I learn in school.

I just feel like I would be better off dropping out, getting my GED, and then enrolling at my local community college. I just don't know what my chances of ever being able to move up to a better college or university would be. My end goal is to eventually go to law school, and become a prosecutor in a place like New York or Chicago. But common sense tells me that dropping out would destroy any chance of my dreams coming true. Am I right?

I'm smart, and I do well in school; but I'm just bored with school, and learning pointless crap that I know I'll never use. Can anyone chime in here and give me some advice?

Thanks,

-Don

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

You won't. This is a very bad plan.

3. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

School teaches pointless crap because it has to relate to everyone. Don't drop out, you will really struggle to get anywhere if you do.

4. kuaiyouming, Jul 19, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

Funny thing is, if you drop out of high school, you will have to take all those classes you missed by dropping out in college.

High School English, Chem, Physics, etc. all mean getting out of the introductory courses in college.

I did well, didn't take Chem in high school, and was forced to take the idiots level chem course.

---

All depends on what you want to do.

6. sportster macrumors 6502