Shoud I Get Xp Or Vista

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ildondeigiocchi, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    WHAT SHOULD I GET FOR MY NEW mac pro WITH THE 8800 TO GAME ON WINDOWS? XP OR VISTA? I NEED TO BE ABLE TO PLAY OLD GAMES AS WELL AS FUTURE GAMES! :confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Why are you YELLING. We can hear you fine. Besides it's hard to read.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    XP has a smaller footprint and is more stable but Vista will be future proof for newer games that rely or directx 10. also stops ze YELLING!
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I personally bought Vista, but functionally they are about the same.
     
  5. jrnewhouse macrumors member

    jrnewhouse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #5
    I would recommend Vista Home Premium. That is what I use in bootcamp, and I have never had a problem with it. I play Crysis, Universe at War: Earth Assault, Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance, Age of Empires III Asian Dynasties, Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword, Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, and others without a hitch. For older games, you can set them to run in compatibility mode for XP or earlier.
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    ^^ Thats the version I got too, £10 extra for the OEM edition of Home Premium over Home Basic seemed worth it.
     
  7. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #7
    I'm running Vista 64 in my Boot Camp partition (Mac Pro). I have four 3D accelerated games I was running under XP 32 bit Pro: Quake 4, Doom 3, Halo, and Prey. So far, the only one that runs right under Vista 64 is Prey.

    So I've ordered XP 64 Pro to see if they will run better under that.

    In other words, I agree with the thoughts expressed above. For legacy games, XP is best. For future proofing, Vista is best.
     
  8. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #8
    Do you think it would be wiser to get XP for now and later on upgrade to Vista? I really need to play FS2004 and i dont think it works on vista......
    So confused on what to do.:confused::confused:
     
  9. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #9
    Vista Home Premium will only see one of the two CPUs in the Mac Pro. So you will only have 2 or 4 cores available in Windows compared with the 4 or 8 (depending on which Mac Pro you have) which your machine actually has.

    In order to use all the cores in your machine you need either XP Pro or Vista Ultimate.
     
  10. elmo151 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    I got vista and soon realized that many of the applications I wanted to use were XP. Take a look at the apps you want to run and make certain they will run on vista.
     
  11. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #11
    I would stick with XP for now as Vista has not had many positive comments from all the people who have used it.
     
  12. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #12
    I run Vista Ultimate 64 bit on my Mac Pro and prefer it to XP. Haven't had a single problem yet with any games, applications or drivers.
     
  13. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #13
    Get XP. When you find you need Vista, install that, too. No reason you can't eventually have both on your system.
     
  14. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #14
    I prefer Vista (I use Business) on my SR MBP bootcamp. I haven't had a problem playing any of my games so far. I've never play FS2004 but you should be able to use compatibility mode if necc.

    Cheers,
     
  15. ajx22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Honolulu (Hawai'i Kai), Hawai'i
    #15
    As stated - if you want to play all older games; you'll need/want XP - if you want to play newer games; you'll need Vista. You may have luck with Vista's "Compatibility Mode".

    The decision of which will depend on what era games you will be playing.

    Note that M$ is dropping support for XP soon too! - so :confused:
     
  16. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #16
    Well, except for expense. Plus the fact that having two operating systems which do the same thing is a waste of hard drive space.
     
  17. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #17
    Is that anything to do with the 64-bitedness?

    Quake 4 ran fine for me on my 2006 CD iMac
    using 32-bit Vista. But that's a diff machine,
    so maybe not comparable.
     
  18. Erwin-Br macrumors 6502a

    Erwin-Br

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    Wow, wait a minute. Is it possible to boot from more than 2 options with Bootcamp? Could I install both XP and Vista next to OSX?

    --Erwin
     
  19. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #19
    I wonder if thats possible. That would be soo cool. Running the Worlds 3 best operating systems. OSX, XP and Vista!:apple::):apple: Is it possible??;)
     
  20. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #20
    bootcamp can do triboot theres few vids on youtube
     
  21. Banacek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #21
    Exactly. My game plan is to have both XP and Vista installed.
     
  22. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #22
    That is probably the stupidest thing I've EVER heard. What is wrong with microsoft?
     
  23. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #23
    I believe it is commonly refered to as a money making technique.
     
  24. Geosphere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    So you need vista Ultimate to use all 8 cores? If so any point getting it to play games an run some 3d apps (Maya/zbrush)
     
  25. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #25
    Vista Business can also use all 8.
     

Share This Page