Should I get Ram upgrade for imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cairbre, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. cairbre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys I am new to the forum.

    I have a fairly simple question really. I am about to upgrade my vista work laptop to an imac.

    One of the programmes I use is an accounts package that is windows only so I am going to get parallel for the imac and I was wondering should I get the ram upgrade or will I be fine with the four gigs. The programme is not a processor intensive programme and the ram seems pretty expensive.

    Thanks,

    Cairbre :confused:
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    4GB RAM should be plenty for running Parallels, based on your needs. I think you'll be fine. :)
     
  3. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Upgrading RAM from Apple is very expensive. You can upgrade RAM yourself, it is perfectly doable and does not void the warranty. See here.

    For now, 4GB should do you. Windows through parallels does eat up some RAM, but 4GB is ok if the programmes you use aren't resource hungry.

    I'd consider getting 4GB for now and maybe buying 8GB in a year or two. It will only get cheaper. Crucial.com is very good for RAM, 8GB now is around $90, which is already half Apple's price.

    Welcome to the forum!
     
  4. cairbre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for all the advice guys. Now all I have to do is wait for the new imacs to come out.

    PLease be early May :D
     
  5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    here if you are usa and not in california (due to sales tax) this is good ram for a 2010 iMac (don't know what ram will be in the 2011)


    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php...DDR3-1333-SODIMM-4GB-Original-Notebook-Memory


    45 a stick is 90 for 8gb and here is a 15% discount code


    RABBIT15



    Shipping is free so after discount 8gb is $76.50 add that to your 4gb included in the iMac and you will have 12gb (for only $76.50)

    more then enough ram for most iMac users.



    If you buy from apple you get 8gb ram for $200. So the choice is yours 12gb ram for $76.50 or 8gb ram for $200.
     
  6. cairbre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #6
    I live in Ireland so I should be able to get the ram from crucial.

    I presume installing the ram is as easy as on a windows based machine. If so then I will do it myself. Thanks again for the help
     
  7. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Crucial is good. Upgrading RAM is easy, I put a link in my post above.
     
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #9
    I found that trying to run Win7 Pro using VM fusion with 4GBs was a painful experience. With 8GBs it runs much better, but in the end I went back to the bootcamp. I guess we all have difference frames of reference on what is acceptable performance and what isn't.
     
  10. cairbre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #10
    I suppose I could go the bootcamp root if needed but I am not giving up and getting a mac as my work computer because of one program.

    Thanks for the all the help guys this is a welcoming place.

    I watched the videos and it looks pretty easy so I should be fine with the ram install.
     

Share This Page