should i REALLY buy a mac??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ndDesign, Dec 9, 2008.

1. ndDesign macrumors newbie

I know I'm on Mac site but I'm sure there are some very knowledgable people here...

I'm a graphic designer needing to buy a new computer. My main concerns are the life span of the computer, right now I've been using a Toshiba Satellite that I've had for 3 1/2 years that has reached its end. I'd like to go a longer time, at least four years or so.

My second main concern is stability. As I'm sure many of you can feel my pain I'm very tired of "Illegal operations" and "Not Responding" notices in the middle of projects. I understand these types of things are unavoidable but I'd to minimize them as much as possible. OSX, XP, Vista??

Third concern is performance. I'm looking to get Adobe Master Collection and run a least a few of these programs at a time. Specifically I'd like to be able to run Affect Effects and Photoshop without having to wait forever to for a ram preview in AE. I would really like something that moves fast and does what I want it to, when I want it to.

I've looked a lot into the MacBook Pro, its seems like a suped up version of that (2.53GHz, Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB memory, 320GB HD) could definitely do the job, but that runs upwards of $3000. Is that really the best way to go? I hear that it is but it's hard for me to believe that when I see a PC with3GB ram and 350GB HD for $500. Even if I had to buy a new PC every two years that would still be a better way to go.

Is there a PC brand (Sony, Toshiba, etc) that's better than another? Mac the way to go?? mac pro refirb??

Thoughts? Advise? Let me have it!

Thanks!

2. south8212 macrumors 6502

Go with the macbook pro, it is worth the extra cost.

If stability in an OS is one of your main concerns you cant go wrong with osx.

As for your design work....I usually run DW, PS, safari, and many more applications simultaneously without any problems.....and ive only got 2gb of ram.