Show your setup and benchmarks

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ultracyclist, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. bokkow macrumors 6502

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    I'd take any chance to show a picture of my dear hobby-machine, so here it is:
    [​IMG]
    Specifications can be found in my signature. Geekbench says 14000 roughly. The numbers don't really matter as long as the device delivers the performance you need :)

    I like your setup Jeroen, those thin-bezelled Dell monitors are awesome. Nice job on upgrading your cMP, next thing on the list would be a (PCI-e) SSD?
     
  2. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #3
    No, a PCI-e is not smart when updating OSX. Tomorrow a Samsung eve 850 250gb will be installed together with an 1tb WD HDD
     
  3. prvt.donut macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #4
    Why is it not smart?
     
  4. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #5
    Its easy for me, installing the new os using an HDD enclosure with USB on my MacBook Pro and then replacing the Boot.efi files. Running on a PCI SSD this is a bit more inconvenient. And the speed difference between those 2 types won't big that big of an issue.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    I'm about to do something similar, but I didn't know I had to do anything with the Boot.efi files. What needs to be done and why?
     
  6. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #7
    I'm having a Mac Pro 1,1 (firmware upgrade to 2,1) as this Mac is not native supporting El Cap 64bit Boot, the boot.efi files need to be replaced with costum made files in order to boot into the OS.
    http://piker-alpha.github.io/macosxbootloader/
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Ahhh, okay thanks. I understand now, and it's not relevant to my situation.
     
  8. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #10
    Not really time for benchmarks but i think i can hold up with "custom" by now....

    Mac Pro 4,1
    W3680
    48GB RAM
    256GB SM951 (via Lycom in case mounted) + 480GB SSD on SATA bay
    4 port x4 USB 3.0 card
    R9 280X, flashed
    R9 270X, unflashed

    2 x16 cards in the DVD bay, expanded from internal unused mini PCIe - Full album: https://imgur.com/a/sK0Z0

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Using slot 3 as x4 even though it is covered by a 2 slot GPU - by PCIe extension cable and taping the NGFF/M.2 adapter in the case - Full album: https://imgur.com/a/81NVk

    [​IMG]


    And the current setup:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. h9826790, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Any recommendations to that PCIe extension cable? I want one as well. I am also running dual GPU at the moment, and would like to recover the remaining slot. Million thanks in advance.

    Do I need to get a cable that can turn 90 degree? (On the side that plug into the slot)
     
  10. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #12
    I got this one from (german) ebay but you should be able to source them from various Chinese ebay sellers as "PCIe x4 riser":

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/331795189862

    It bends fine and i see no issues with it, though i had to replace my primary GPU with the secondary one as the cooler was a bit too low on the 280X (ASUS) - It fits under my Gigabyte 270X but *does* lift it a few mm more, the Apple slot lock thingy does hold it firmly in place and the pressure on the board/slot should be fine.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Thanks for the reply, I just a bit worry that the connector will infring the GPU which make it cannot plug into slot 3 (for better cooling, I plug that in slot 3). Will go to check it out if any better connector I can find.
     
  12. Obioban macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #14
    I'm confused-- what's going on in the first half of your post? Are there more than 2 x16 slots?
     
  13. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #16
    @Pasterychef,

    Nice benchmarks! But why is the E
    Unigine benchmark been run at 1600x900? and not at 1920x1080 as that is quit common and representative.

    Isnt your Dell monitor capable of full HD?
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #17
    Thanks.

    I just clicked on the "Extreme" preset and let it run. I didn't change any of the settings.
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    The "preset" is 1600x900 Window mode, can't be change.
    Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 21.39.19.jpg
     
  16. Messy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #19
    My 12 Core @2.66ghz Mac Pro, Retina Macbook Pro 13", various other gadgets -3D Printer, 2D Printer (lol), Bose Soundlink III, etc. etc.!

    I think I get a pretty respectable score all things considered from Geekbench.

    I work from home btw. www.iinde.com ;)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  17. h9826790, Apr 27, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    My setup is very worse at this moment. Obviously I have to share my computer corner with my kids :confused:
    IMG_1883.JPG

    And this is the benchmark.
    Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 01.07.22.jpg
    V3 10.11.4 b4.jpg
     

Share This Page