Sierra and AdobeCS6

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by zoran, May 3, 2017.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is there anyone running Adobe CS6 with Sierra?
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    I'm running Photoshop CS6, Bridge CC, and Acrobat Pro 11.0.20'

    Lou
     
  3. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    some of my collabs are running CS6; photoshop, indesign, illustrator, dreamweaver (the last 2 need 'legacy java' installed). acrobat pro seems to be buggy for some (but with workarounds)...
     
  4. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #4
    Im experiencing this issue in Yosemite with CS6, please have a look and tell me if its fixed in Sierra!
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    hmmm...
    You posted in that link that your issue was gone when you tried it in El Capitan.
    Did you then move back to Yosemite?
    Can you test that with your own system? Seems like if it was fixed with El Capitan, then the same issue may still be fixed in Sierra - but, you may have some difference in your own system that may be helping (or giving you problems), so sometimes you might have a setup that is fairly unique to you.
    I would suggest that you could make a bootable clone to another drive. Update that clone to Sierra, and check for your issue...
    Let us know what you find out.
     
  6. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #6
    1. Why make a boot clone of Yose and update that? So that when I apply the upgrade to Sierra it will be under the same conditions?
    2. How do I make a bootable clone? Can I do it with an external HDD?
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Or, just update the Yosemite install that you are now using.
    I suggested making a clone, booting to that, so that you can update the clone, or do anything else with that clone. Your original stays untouched, on the internal drive. If that works out well for you, and those areas that you need to work, are working, then you can clone your clone, all updated and working, back to your internal drive.
    Or, just make a clone on an external, leave the new clone untouched, and just update your internal drive. If things don't go well with the update, you can simply clone your complete drive back in place.

    Clone is a complete, bootable copy. It would be on another drive, of course. It's really just a full backup of the drive, so you could use any method that you know leaves you with a (bootable) backup. Some users use Disk Utility to make a "restore" of your drive to another drive. Or, many users recommend dedicated apps, such as Carbon Copy Cloner, or SuperDuper!
    This guy seems to prefer Carbon Copy Cloner, and I see it mentioned probably more often than other apps.

    Use whatever you like to have a safety copy, so you can easily go back, if things go wrong with an update.
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    Its unbelievable only 3 users replied to this thread and none are actually using fully CS6, just parts of it. This does put me into thoughts that maybe it set worth still using CS6 but I gotta say that its much cheaper and basically it still is doing the jobs I need. I don't know why would anyone pay for much more to have CC and for what reason? What more does it offer to justify the expense?
     
  9. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #9
    as i mentioned, some of the people i work with use (various combinations) of CS6: photoshop, indesign, illustrator (mostly). others choose to stay up-to-date, and use CC. and everyone is getting their work done...
     
  10. yellow8, May 20, 2017
    Last edited: May 20, 2017

    yellow8 macrumors newbie

    yellow8

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    #10
    Working regularly with CS6 on Sierra, no problem yet.
     
  11. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    Just one guy (yellow8) working with CS6 on Sierra? :(
     
  12. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #12
    are you skipping my post??? (#9)? i have clients and collabs running CS6 & sierra (again, mostly photoshop, indesign, illustrator). some use acrobat pro (which can be finicky in sierra, but works enough). and i use dreamweaver...
     
  13. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    Sorry I think I blacked out!
     
  14. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #14
    Hmmm i reinstalled Sierra and it seems im not having the same installation issues as before! Very strange, i hope i dont meet any strange unexpected issues further on.
     

Share This Page