iPhone Silent switch

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Aidy06, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. Aidy06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I'm jail broke and sometimes my silent switch doesn't work. I'll flip to silent but no vibrate or screen pop up to confirm, if I flip back and then again to silent it registers. I'm guessing its a tweak I've installed but god knows which one, anybody come across this problem before at all? Thanks
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    Yup! That happened to me before and I can't reproduce it at will so I couldn't troubleshoot

    One day, I installed some tweak and in the description, I remember reading something about fixing the mute switch. And the problem went away ever since that day. Not sure if it was coincidence or what but since then, I've restored two times and started as new and haven't had the problem
     
  3. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #3
    I restored yesterday and rejailbroke, it was fine but has now come back. Really starting to annoy me now, need to find the culprit
     
  4. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #4
    Still don't know what's causing this issue, anybody else shed any light?
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    Do you restore from backup? What tweaks do you have installed?
     
  6. ridonkulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    #6
    Mine has been doing the same thing, it's driving me nuts along with my auto-brightness not working properly. Wish I never would have left 6.1.3, it worked flawlessly.....
    I only have the SSLPatch, been thinking of doing full restore to 7.0.6 to see if it fixes these issues. I only have a few tweaks installed. Wondering of CCToggles and CCLoader might be the culprit.
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    Try uninstalling CCLoader and leave it like that for a few days. it shouldn't be too bad to use the phone without that tweak
     
  8. ridonkulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    #8
    I think I'm gonna go up to 7.0.6(before 7.1 drops) and reinstall my tweaks one at a time to see which one is the culprit. Do you recommend any other tweaks that do what CCLoader and CCToggles do all in one?
     
  9. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #9
    Yes I restored as new, I don't have many tweaks installed.

    Just looked through them all and there's none there that I would associate with my problem, also now my phone doesn't vibrate sometimes when I get a call, text or notification. I have to reboot for this to come back, I still suffer with the mute switch not recognising me putting it into silent mode.

    If anybody does happen to find out what it is then please update this post, I'll do the same.

    ----------

    Why do you think CCLoader could be the problem? I've gone ahead and removed it, will report back tomorrow.
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    i'm not sure if it could be the problem. i just remember i used CCLoader for a while back then (I don't use it anymore). I can't recall if the problem occured when I had CCLoader installed or not so I gave it as a suggestion for you to try
     
  11. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #11
    That's fine, I wasn't questioning your suggestion. Was just wondering what the thinking was behind it.

    Anyway I uninstalled it this morning and my phone has just done it again, I flicked the mute switch to silent and it didn't register it.

    It's definitely not CCLoader, thank you for your suggestion. Hopefully somebody finds out what it is as it's driving me mad ha
     
  12. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #12
    Have you ruled out the possibility that it may be an actual bad switch on your phone? When I had the 4S, my silent switch became erratic and turned out it was a lose connection, so the Apple store replaced the phone. I'm not saying that's the issue with yours, but maybe something so obvious?
     
  13. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #13
    Restore from new and don't jailbreak - if it still does it - it's likely going to be a hardware problem.
     
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    the thing is that it's not reproducible at will. it just happens randomly

    flicking the mute switch may not register, but flicking it off and then back on will register

    it never happened to me on stock iOS, only after jailbroken. fortunately, i don't have that problem anymore. I'm pretty sure it was a tweak i had installed back then that i don't use anymore
     
  15. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #15
    Done that, not a hardware fault as it's fine without jailbreak

    ----------

    Found some more info, it only seems to do it if the phone is locked. I can't reproduce it anywhere else as of now
     
  16. ridonkulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    #16
    [/QUOTE]
    Found some more info, it only seems to do it if the phone is locked. I can't reproduce it anywhere else as of now[/QUOTE]

    I noticed that as well, only does it when it's locked. The weird thing is, when I toggle it to silent mode when it's locked and it doesn't seem to register, I can then unlock phone and toggle the switch back to "ringer on", it will then show that the ringer is back on giving me the sense that it was actually on silent mode.....If that makes any sense....
     
  17. Aidy06, Mar 7, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014

    Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #17
    Found some more info, it only seems to do it if the phone is locked. I can't reproduce it anywhere else as of now[/QUOTE]

    I noticed that as well, only does it when it's locked. The weird thing is, when I toggle it to silent mode when it's locked and it doesn't seem to register, I can then unlock phone and toggle the switch back to "ringer on", it will then show that the ringer is back on giving me the sense that it was actually on silent mode.....If that makes any sense....[/QUOTE]

    Yep! That's exactly what happens to me, although the phone isn't actually on silent as I found out when I was in a meeting at work.

    Maybe we can compare tweaks and see what we have the same of and take it from there?
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    Same here, when I had the problem, doesn't actually put it in silent mode if it doesn't register. Found out in class one day and that's when I noticed the problem
     
  19. ridonkulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    #19
    Yep mine wasn't on silent either even though when I toggle the ringer back on it indicates I turned ringer back on, weird....
    My tweaks are:
    Ask to Call
    CCLoader
    CCToggles
    Confirm SMS
    customLS
    iCaughtU
    JellyLock7
    KillBackground7
    StatusModifier
    PandoraDownloader
    DataMonitor
    FakeCarrier
    BiteSMS
     
  20. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #20
    The only tweaks we have the same is

    CCLoader, CustomLS and Bitesms.

    It's not CCLoader as I removed that and it still happened, I'm going to remove the other 2 and test over this weekend.
     
  21. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #21
    Can't be biteSMS as I use that regularly. Might be customLS. I used to use that; not anymore though
     
  22. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #22
    I don't know then, it's not CustomLS as it's been uninstalled all morning and it's just happened again
     
  23. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #23
    What's your list of tweaks? Maybe I can tell you what tweaks I used to have installed and then you can start from there

    Just a furious question, but are you able to reproduce the problem at will?
     
  24. Aidy06 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #24
    Nope! Can't produce it at will, that's the annoying thing. It just happens, I'm reluctant to restore again as it takes up to much time setting things back up.

    List of installed tweaks are as follows:

    Activator
    Always Clear
    BatteryLife
    BioLockdown
    BiteSMS
    Boover
    BytaFont 2
    CallBar
    CCClockOpenToAlarm
    CCLoader
    CCNowPlaying
    CCRespring
    ClearFolders
    Coono
    CyDelete
    F.Lux
    Flex 2
    iCleaner
    iFile
    Inform Me
    NC Date Customizer
    No Percent Sign
    NoYahoo!
    NoAdStoreOpen
    NoDelay64
    NoPageDots
    Springtomize3
    StatusBarFix
    SubtleLock
    TinyBar
    VirtualHome
    Winterboard
    Zeppelin

    Phew...

    Haha
     
  25. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #25
    try uninstalling

    Inform Me
    Zeppelin

    i used to have that those installed but don't use them anymore
     

Share This Page