SIM to Micro SIM activation.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Goaliegeek, May 25, 2010.

  1. Goaliegeek macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    So since the iPhone 4 will have a Micro SIM, how will I get my info and stuff off of my current SIM card and put it onto the Micro SIM? I am most likely going to order and have the iPhone 4 shipped to my Apple Store so I can pick it up first thing in the morning. Will the Apple Store be able to transfer the cards, or will I have to go to the ATT store later and have them do it? Also, think ATT would charge me anything for doing it? Thanks Guys.
     
  2. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #3
    there are many Contact backup apps in the app store...download both apps to the new and old phone there you go
     
  3. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
  4. Goaliegeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    1st link doesn't work

    Well I have my contacts in the Address Book on my MBP. I just mean like the activation and my phone number and crap. I'm going to sell my 3G to a coworker so he can just pop in his SIM card right and he'll be set.
     
  5. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #6
    again the sim in the new phone is active. im guessing you havent bought many phones?
     
  6. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    It's a search in this forum for the words "micro sim". You should read through the results since your asnwer is already there.
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    You can restore from a backup or sync your contacts after setup as new (preferred) when you get home. The sim card does not have contacts unless it's from a non-iPhone. Your friend will insert his and then import contacts from sim and then insert the iPhone sim.
     
  8. Goaliegeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    yea I did that and nothing came up regarding to what I was questioning.

    First phone I've had that uses a SIM card. But doesn't the SIM contain my number and activation info?

    not worried about data and stuff since I have everything on iTunes.
     
  9. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #10
    a 3rd time. when you buy a phone regardless where they activate the sim.
     
  10. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    All your info is on your computer. iTunes will transfer it to the new phone first time you sync.
     
  11. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #12
    What will non-iPhone users do to get their contacts on to the new iPhone?
     
  12. wingnut8 macrumors 65816

    wingnut8

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #13
    So what do I do if I ever want to use my 3GS?
     
  13. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    iTunes and the info on your computer. ATT, for exmaple, can transfer contacts from your old phone to your new iPhone. Honestly, its just best to update your computer with your current phone contacts.

    Keep a SIM in it and if you need to have your carrier activate that device. It won't extend your contract.
     
  14. Goaliegeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    So I just connect it to my MBP on iTunes and it will auto activate and set it to my number eh? Nice. Thank You.
     
  15. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #16
    no. data like contacts? yes. phone # is done by apple and att!!!!!
     
  16. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #17
    ATT will activate the phone, which will leave you with a working phone with zero info data, and then your computer will sync all your info and media over.
     
  17. Goaliegeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #18
    Ok, so when I pick up the new iPhone at the Apple Store they will do all that? Cool. Thats all I was asking for.
     
  18. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
  19. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #20
    My suggestion, assuming you have one, is to bring your laptop with you and then someone will be able to help you if you have issues. remember, that your phone will be tied to one computer at a time and if you sync to a different one it will wipe the info from that phone and replace it with the info from the new computer.
     
  20. wingnut8 macrumors 65816

    wingnut8

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #21
    Ahh. Makes sense. I'm assuming that on of those micro sim to sim adapters would work as well.
     
  21. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #22
    You can assume, but that doesn't mean anything. :D
     
  22. MassiveAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    Do you even own an iPhone? If you did you wouldn't be asking these questions. :rolleyes:
     
  23. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #24
    Why? Home activation on the 2G was radically different from activation on the 3G and 3GS. Not to mention, if he's had his current phone for two years things may have changed.
     
  24. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #25
    Is anyone going to ask the OP if he even synced his contacts?
     

Share This Page