Single Sign On Frustrations

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bunger, Feb 22, 2018.

  1. bunger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #1
    I’m setting up a new ATV 4. I have. DirectvNow subscriptions and have download about a dozen network apps for the ATV.

    The first time I launch the app, I am prompted whether whether I would like to use my DTVN sign on - yes!

    Then the app asks me to go their website to activate it... for every. Single. App.

    Is that how it is supposed to work?
     
  2. vertical smile macrumors 68040

    vertical smile

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    #2
    I have never used SSO, but I don't think that is how it works. I think as long as you are using a supported SSO provider, and supported apps, then it should be automatic.

    What apps are you trying it for?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 22, 2018 ---
    Does SSO work for DTN?
     
  3. bunger thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #3
  4. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #4
  5. vertical smile macrumors 68040

    vertical smile

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    #5
    I thought I read a while back that DTN was added to the list of SSO participants, but it isn't on there now.
     
  6. bunger thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #6
    Very odd... DTVN is a selectable provider on the ATV...
     
  7. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #7
    Yeah they appear to allow us to select all of them it seems like but that doesn't mean they're supporting single sign-on unfortunately.

    Whole situation is a jumbled mess thanks to the providers holding out on certain aspects selectively
     
  8. bunger thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
  9. mallbritton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #9
    DirecTV Now is not currently a supported SSO provider. But it will be when tvOS/iOS 11.3 is released.

    To enter your TV Provider credentials on the Apple TV open Settings > Accounts > TV Provider. Any apps that support SSO ought to prompt you to allow it to access the credentials the first time you launch it.
     
  10. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #10
    You have a source on that?
    Would like to read it and see what else is coming w/ that update in terms of SSO providers

    Thx
     
  11. mallbritton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #11
    I'm running the public betas of iOS and tvOS. In tvOS/iOS 11.2.x DirecTV Now is not a supported provider, but it is in the 11.3 public betas.
     
  12. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #12
    Nice - Hope that stays..
    Really want to see more and more as part of SSO, especially the Streaming providers.
    I know Vue & Sling are there - hope YouTubeTV gets onboard also..

    This nonsense of traditional cable providers just trying to be difficult to their own paying customers wishes is so awful. Just sucks.
     
  13. naterman macrumors newbie

    naterman

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    #13
    I use DTVN with AppleTV 4 and am able to use SSO for many apps, but not all. It just doesn’t work with all providers, but it does seem to work well for many. This link may be helpful:

    https://help.directvnow.com/hc/en-u...count-to-access-network-sites-and-mobile-apps
     
  14. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #14
    Are you just authenticating with your DTVN credentials each time?
    (as many of us do using normal cable co credentials on a per app basis)

    Single Sign On is different than that.
    SSO is supposed to be system level authentication and you're done (thus the name)
     
  15. naterman macrumors newbie

    naterman

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    #15
    Yes, I sign in to DTVN, set it as my network in settings, and then the first time I open (compatible) apps they ask if I want to “sign in with my provider.” I just click yes, and that’s it.
     
  16. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #16
    Yeah, it's the same process for all of us, it just "doesn't end up working" if the provider doesn't support SSO (you get a message).

    Sounds like DTVN is onboard the SSO bandwagon either now or shortly (when that beta clears to release).
    Great to hear!
     
  17. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #17
    along the same lines, it blows my mind that Comcast is not a SSO supported provider.
     
  18. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #18
    I think they basically don't want to make it too easy or enjoyable to use anything beyond their provided (and charged monthly for) hardware.
     
  19. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #19
    That makes sense. Plus they have the Roku app which works as an actual cable box. It’s been free and in beta, but I’m sure it will be live and cost money this year.
     
  20. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #20
    No kidding?
    Good on them for embracing that I guess...
    Nice to have options..

    I wonder if they'll ever make an Apple TV App?

    I wish Comcast would get into the OTT Streaming Cable game. They have so much infrastructure and clout that they could probably put something together that would be competitive and at the very least keep other options on their toes.

    (no - I don't like Comcast at all - but trying to live within the world we have here..)
     
  21. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #21
    It’s pretty great. I have a Roku TV in my sunroom and just use the Xfinity app. You get access to your DVR and full blown cable without needing a cable box.
     
  22. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #22
    I was very excited about my Roku StreamingStick+ test of Youtube TV this weekend, but I have to say, the performance of that particular service on my ATV4k is *way* better than the Roku..

    I guess I shouldn't be surprised due to the hardware differences. The ATV4k starts streams basically instantly and they go to full rez/clear nearly as fast - the Roku doing the exact same thing on the same app takes sometimes almost 30 seconds to get clear - really when sucks when changing channels..
     
  23. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #23
    The ATV is by far, IMO, the best interface off all of the streamers. It is what I use in my home theater for streaming.
     
  24. turbineseaplane macrumors 601

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #24
    I totally agree - The remote is the one thing that I think is way better on Roku.

    In my testing with family members who've not used YTTV on either device, they intuitively get their way around with the traditional D-pad and layout and feel of the Roku remote and buttons and the materials.

    I'd switch to an old silver ATV remote if it had volume buttons, but sadly it does not.

    The Siri remote is ruining my f'in life.
    It's just not a good design for a TV remote. It looks nice and is fancy, but there are legitimate usability issues with it. So irritated they don't offer a "pro remote" or multiple options or re-design it or something..
     
  25. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #25
    I just want a channel back button on the remote.
     

Share This Page

29 February 22, 2018