Skyrim and bf3 performance on my MacBook early 2011

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rookies1000, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. Rookies1000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi
    I've been lurking on the forum in a while and thought I might share my experience.
    My spec
    Early 2011
    i7 2.2
    8gb ram
    6750m (overclock 800/900)
    1680x1050
    Running windows 7 64-bit professional on bootcamp
    Catalysm driver 11.10


    Skyrim
    1440x900
    High setting with AA off
    40-50 fps

    Medium setting
    1440x900
    60-70 fps

    BF3
    1440x900
    Medium setting
    40 fps

    High setting with AA off
    1440x900
    25-30 fps

    Both games run really well and look great.

    I choose to run at 1440x900 instead of 1680x1050 because I prefer the increased fps. Also note that my win7 installation is fresh with nothing else installed.
     
  2. Ovenall macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Hey, how can you tell how many FPS you are getting? I've seen people post these numbers, but don't know how to determine them. Thanks.
     
  3. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #3
    Some games will let you see how many FPS you're getting, some 3rd party programs will also tell you, FRAPS comes to mind.

    I don't know how in Skyrim, but in BF3 just hit the "~" key and type Render.DrawFPS 1 then press enter
     
  4. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Will Skyrim run on the 3000HD? Anyone tried? I have it on 360 but a little mobile Skyrim never hurt anybody :)
     
  5. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    I know some people have used the Wineskin port floating around and run it on the HD 3000... so if Wine can handle running it on a HD 3000 in Mac OS X, I'm pretty sure using Windows it should run ok. Yes you'll have to do low res and low graphics options, but it *should* run.
     
  6. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
  7. AeroSatan macrumors member

    AeroSatan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I don't have a MAcbook I have an Alienware M14x, but when I got Skyrim through Steam the game defaulted to playing through the Intel 3000 graphics rather than the dedicated GPU. If you mess with the settings and turn off a bunch of reflections you can have it run on medium. It's not the greates experience but it can be done.
     
  8. rasmasyean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    Have you tried it in clutter scenes and stuff? Particularly, fire scenes often tax the video card. I was under the impression that most of the good graphics require a 256-bit video card.
     
  9. hell dragon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #9
    hello my friend thanx for letting us know wat ur mac can run its really helpfull for people like me . i have the same gpu as u and i have both mac OS and win7 on bootcamp also the same driver 11.10. the problem is i cant play bf 3 , once i click on it nothing happens , it pops in task manager for a second or two then disappears , i tired to change the compatibilty of the game to windows 98 n it works but with horrible graphics and many weird colors. i dont know want to do now any ideas ?

    thx alot
     

Share This Page