SL to Lion: upgrade or fresh install?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by lexvo, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. lexvo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Which is better in your experience: just upgrade Snow Leopard to Lion or do a fresh install?

    Do applications influence this? Besides the standard apps like Safari and Mail I'm using iWork, iWeb, iTunes, Lightroom 3, Handbrake and a few utilities, so nothing special.
     
  2. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #2
    i just upgraded cuz its easier and its working fine. i think fresh would be better tho.
     
  3. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #3
    Since doing a TM Backup, installing Lion clean, and then restoring from the Backup isn't much more work and also better in general i'd recommend a clean install over an upgrade.
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    Clean installs are a waste of time if you are just going to put your TM backup on top of it. There would be no difference than just upgrading.

    A reason I can think of in which it might be a good idea is if you use software which changes the OS in low-level ways (adds kexts), which may be incompatible and cause problems. Or, if you want to take the opportunity to purge years' worth of unused preferences and apps that you no longer use.
     
  5. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #5
    That is if you completely migrate EVERYTHING. But since you can select what to migrate and what not...

    Another good reason.
     
  6. TheNewDude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #6
    Will the $30 get you an Upgrade only or is it good enough to install fully?

    Plus how would you do a clean install if it's a download only software? Does it not require you to have something running first?
     
  7. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #7
    It will do both.

    You start the Lion Installer and select another Partition on your HDD (which you have to create beforehand) or another HDD to install on instead of installing on your Macintosh HDD.

    For example: Before installing Lion DP4, i created a Partition on my HDD called Lion HD via the Disc Utility.
    Then I started the installed and selected said Lion HD so the Installer did a fresh installation. Later i migrated some data via Migration Assistant to the newly installed OS X Lion...done.
     
  8. TheNewDude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #8

    Ahhh i was really hoping you would say that when you start the install it will give you an option to do a clean install!! lol

    I already have a window's partition on my HDD. I want to get rid of it. Hardly use windows now and it's taking up lots of room.
     
  9. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    If you have a 2nd drive, try the upgrade and if you don't like it, wipe and try fresh. The upgrade does save a lot of time if you have many may apps and settings you want to keep.
     
  10. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #10
    Of course there is the possibility that Apple might change that you can do a clean install, but that is unlikely.
     
  11. FroMann macrumors 6502

    FroMann

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA.
    #11
    I am just going to upgrade since I only bought my Mac a few months ago, also I do not have a time machine backup.
     
  12. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #12
    UPGRADE first, and see if everything's fine. If it isn't, or you want to make sure your system is "clean", then do a clean install, as you will now have a Recovery Partition that Lion installed. Doing a clean install with a recovery partition already in place is easier.
     
  13. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #13
    You don't need one. If you create a partition, install Lion on it and after the installation go through the FirstStart/SetUp Process you can choose Migration Assistant and transfer data from either a Time Machine Backup or from another HDD or Partition.

    But do as you wish with your Lion copy. Just remember not to do so with Beta versions or DPs.
     
  14. lexvo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Thanks for all the replies.

    I'm going to do an upgrade first and see if everything is OK. I guess it will as I'm a pretty 'standard' user :)
    If not, I always have the option to do a fresh install.
     

Share This Page