Slingplayer over 3G...?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Pared, May 12, 2009.

  1. Pared macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #1
    Ok, the question that everyone wants answered:

    If you use voipover3g, can you add slingplayer to the list of programs that are fooled into thinking it is on wifi when it's really on 3g?

    Who will be the first to answer? :D
     
  2. Pared thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    Fine, I'll do it myself.

    Yes, it works.
    [​IMG]

    Hooray!
     
  3. patrickvanzandt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. thomahawk macrumors 6502a

    thomahawk

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
  5. golden3159 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #5
    awesome! Go LAKERS!
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Hell yeah :D
    The SlingPlayer now works perfect with 3G.
    Take that AT&T :D
    lol
    Actually I cant tell the difference between Wifi and 3G slinging, they both look clear. Its not like youtube that looks grainy on 3G.
    This hack alone is worth jailbreaking if you got a slingbox.
    Big thanks to patrickvanzandt for the instructions on this.
     
  7. bobsegal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    Will this patch work on edge ,the older iphone before I pull the triger.
     
  8. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #8
    Can someone please post step by step on how the use VOIPover3g on a Mac? The are no instructions in the app. Thanks in advance!
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You gotta jailbreak your phone and install cydia.
    Then search in cydia for Voipover3G.
    Install that. Then SSH into your phones file system and follow the directions above posted on the link.
    This hack should also work on Edge, I dont see why not.

     
  10. Pared thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #10
    Yes.

    Quality isn't spectacular but more than watchable.
     
  11. pattoniscool macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #11
    Works great over 3G for me, have a legacy Slingbox and have had no problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Evolesque macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #12
    Works great over 3g for me too.
    I just wish the iphone speaker was as loud as the n95's.
     
  13. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #13
    Does voipover3g work with 3.0b5? All of my devices have been upgraded for app testing, but I'm going to jailbreak 1 of them so I can Sling over 3G.
     
  14. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #14
    I have VOIPover3g installed already and I can see my iPhone in Finder. Do I go to Home or Mobile inside iPhone?
     
  15. lewisd25 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #15
    Ok...I've followed the instructions, but I still get the "needs wi-fi" pop up.

    - I jailbroke my iPhone 3G 2.21
    - installed voipover3g
    - added the com.slingmedia.SlingPlayer string to voipover3g.plist
    - turned off wi-fi

    ???
     
  16. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #16
    Same thing here.
    Some people can't get it working....can't figure it out.
    I have a slingplayer av not a pro, maybe it has something to do with that. I dunno. Tried everything--no idea what the problem is.
     
  17. martinmartin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #17
    I'm having the same problem - still getting the 'can only be used over wi-fi message.'

    Any ideas??

    And on a related note, when I try to run Skype over 3g, I also get the message 'calls are not permitted over 3g.' I have reinstalled voipover3g 2 times and have restarted the phone a few times...
     

    Attached Files:

  18. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #18
    maybe we need to change some setting on voipover3g?
    maybe it's the format of the file? did you also use Iphonebrowser? most of the folks who have gotten it working are using something else.
     
  19. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #19
    Did you respring or reboot your iPhone after adding the string to the .plist file ?
    Works fine for me.
     
  20. Thewrathofgod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #20
    I did all this and I must have done something right because it doesnt say only works with wifi anymore, it says connecting, but doesnt connect and says make sure you have internet connection and the slingbox is connected, (which both are true) and when i switch to wifi it works just fine...why is this?
     
  21. greekpaz22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #21

    I read this in another post...will try when I get home but could explain the problems everyone is having

    My issue was with 2.2.1 - if you are running 2.2 or greater, you must install "Backward Compatibility" for mobile substrate layer before installing VOIPOVER3G. If you forget, just uninstall, then reinstall after. (remember to re-mod your .plist if you uninstall/reinstall).
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Go all the way to the root where you're not into any folder.
    And from there navigate to:
    /Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries/VoIPover3G.plist

     
  23. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #23
    u r a stud
     
  24. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #24
    Instead of paying $30 for the Sling app on iPhone, wouldn't it be better the use PDANet and use the 3g on you laptop?
     
  25. seafurydriver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #25
    I was also having a problem once I got to the Voipover3G edit part. I believe I edited the .plist file, but still couldn't get it to work. Then I found a program called Tricker ThreeG on Cydia that was free and worked instantly with Sling and Skype. For anyone who's OK with jailbreaking but not comfortable with the whole SSH...text edit thing this is a quick solution.

    And now I'm enjoying slinging over 3G!!! AT&T can bite me!!!
     

Share This Page