Slow shutdown

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by PhillyDK, Oct 22, 2013.

1. PhillyDK macrumors newbie

Hello everyone

I bought my first mac this summer - a Macbook Pro with Retina display. I've been very pleased with it so far. After installing the new Os X Mavericks today everythong ran smooth - even Safari seems like it ran alot smoother than on ML. The problem I noticed occured when I was about to shutdown the mac. Usually it takes a couple of seconds but now it took about a minute - and trust me I am not exaggerating. I tried to turn it on again to see if it still was slow and unfortunately it was. The start up is rather quick but I think it takes too long when it shuts down.

Are any of you experiencing the same problem? Do you have a solution for it? Do you think a formation of the mac would help; and if so do you know where to find a guide on how to format a mac?

Sorry for all the questions I am a rookie on a Mac. :D

- PhillyDK

2. eliezerborges macrumors newbie

I am having the same problem since ML. (I'm using a MBP retina as well)

3. Woodcrest64 macrumors 6502a

Woodcrest64

Yeah I have the same issue and so does my dad who owns a 2013 iMac.

4. HarryWarden macrumors 6502a

Shutdown is and always has been slow for me in ML as well. Was hoping Mavericks would fix that but apparently, it hasn't.

5. ZeeDD macrumors member

Hi guys,

Look in console.app for shutdown stall in logs. My mavericks had a problem with a dropbox service which caused a 12 seconds stall on shutdown my 2013 MBA.

6. ericmpena macrumors newbie

Slow Shutdown

I also started experiencing slow shutdowns after installing Maverick.

My Macbook Pro Retina used to shut down completely in about 2-3 seconds. Now it's taking close to 30 seconds to shut down.

I use bootcamp and constantly need to reboot my computer in order to either go from Apple to Windows platform.

Anyone have any suggestions?

7. iapplelove macrumors 68040

iapplelove