Smaller macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Linuxpro, Feb 5, 2015.

  1. Linuxpro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Portability is more important than performance in my case. I have to get the 11" MacBook air, rather than the 13". In Singapore, they have the 256G SSHD, but they only offer the 11" in 4Gb.

    Months down the road what do you expect those clowns at Sim Lim to charge me for the surgical upgrade?

    My demands are not huge. I will be running mostly Microsoft 365. I will use it for documents and spreadsheets. I also need an SSH client to admin servers.
     
  2. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #2
    I don't know what a Sim Lim is but if they can replace the RAM chips that are soldered on the motherboard I'd be impressed.

    4GB to run Office is overkill, and ssh takes so little memory it's not worth mentioning.
     
  3. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Soooo true! ;)

    But when my wife gets her hands on it, who knows? Her and her sister compete over who can put more photographs on facebook and so on! :eek:

    Thanx
     
  4. Algus macrumors regular

    Algus

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    We just get pissy about 4 GB RAM because it is a tad slower on everything but it still works just fine. I ran my 2012 Mac Mini at stock RAM for a good long while and until I did the upgrade, I didn't know how "bad" I had it.

    RAM is soldered so don't expect to replace that. If 8 GB is not possible maybe consider a refurb (you won't lose much in the way of specs but savings could be good) with a thought to purchase an upgrade sooner rather than later.
     
  5. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    You do not find "refurbs" in Singapore! :eek: Return policies are not so liberal as in the USA, so there are few to be found. :( I will have to buy in the USA on my upcoming trip.

    Thanx
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    If you want more than 4GB of RAM, then you would order it configured with 8GB.
    Looks like Singapore on-line Apple Store is no different than other countries for the MBAir.
    http://store.apple.com/sg/buy-mac/macbook-air?product=MD712ZP/B&step=config
    (you can't upgrade to more RAM after purchase.)

    ----------

    You may be inaccurate about refurbs in Singapore - unless this Refurb page from Singapore Apple Store site is something that I don't understand...
    http://store.apple.com/sg/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/macbook_air/11
     
  7. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #7
    What do you do with your computer?

    I have a stock 2012 Mini and haven't bothered to upgrade it even though it would only cost ~$60.

    When I look at the memory tab of Activity Monitor, I see no indication that I would benefit from more memory. Everything is green.
     
  8. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    I have been to several apple retailers in Singapore. Nobody stocks the 8 Gb model in the iPad air. Maybe I will get lucky!
     
  9. Algus macrumors regular

    Algus

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    I would be pretty surprised if you are not paging a lot (IE OS X is using your hard drive as extra RAM). Mavericks introduced a new compression method which helps as well.

    When the OS can load all straight to RAM instead of dinking around with virtual memory and compression, everything is faster. That is why it seems like you get a speed boost by installing RAM, even though your computer was perfectly capable of running everything before.

    Peaking at my monitor right now, OS X is happy to be using 8.8 GB of memory even though all I have open is Safari and Activity Monitor. The OS will be happy to eat any RAM chips you give it. It is like giving energon to a decepticon.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Yes, it's a custom configuration, so not too likely on a shelf in a store anywhere.
    You can order from this page in the Singapore online Apple Store. - http://store.apple.com/sg/buy-mac/macbook-air?product=MD711ZP/B&step=config
    If you change the configuration to 8GB, the availability changes from "In Stock" to "1-3 business days"
    I don't know about exchange rates, or difference in actual cost - but seems like a lot less effort than doing that on a trip to the US... But, then I know nothing about buying tech stuff in SG.
     
  11. jnat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Location:
    Cambodia
    #11
    Singapore Online Apple Store

    As mentioned and based on real experience, you can order the 8gb 11" for fast delivery and find refirbs.

    What are you on?
     
  12. pasadena macrumors 6502a

    pasadena

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Location:
    Socal
    #12
    My mid-2012 had 4Gb of RAM and is pretty happy with it. I run Firefox, Thunderbird and MS Office (lots of Excel mainly, and Word), several (small) MySQL database, plus a few light-memory programming things.

    I never, ever, felt it was slowing down or in any way limited by the RAM.

    Uploading pics on Facebook is irrelevant, memory-wise.

    Now if you really want 8Gb, just order it from the Apple store online. You'll get it on your doorstep in a few days.
     
  13. Stocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #13
    This is completely false information.

    My 2009 24" iMac with 4 GB RAM seemed to be getting a bit slow, so I figured upgrading the RAM would help. I installed 8 GB and started her up.

    I did not notice any difference whatsoever. The reason why the iMac seemed to be getting slower and slower was something else, maybe due to the OS upgrades requiring more processing power or being larger which taxed the HDD more. RAM had nothing to do with it.

    I confirmed this fact by seeing first hand in Activity Monitor that the iMac never used anywhere near 4 GB, something I should have done before wasting my money and time upgrading the RAM.

    So your assertion that getting more RAM will always help and the OS will always use it is dead wrong. There are countless posts here confirming it, but this post shows my direct experience.

    Today I have a MBA with 4GB because getting 8 GB would have been a waste of $100. Nothing I do comes close to using all 4 GB.
     
  14. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #14
    Thanks for posting your anecdotal evidence that RAM doesn't always make everything better.

    It's refreshing to read this, vs. posts from all the people who bought 8GB machines and are trying to retroactively justify their purchases.
     
  15. Stocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #15
    If somebody purchases 8GB of RAM just because they don't know what the future holds, I completely understand and respect that line of reasoning.

    But the guy above is actually spreading misinformation saying that OS X will use all 8 GBs of RAM and that everything will get a speed boost.
     
  16. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #16
    OS X does try to use all 8GB, so if you look at Activity Monitor you will see all your RAM is being "used" even if you are doing almost nothing.

    The RAM is divided up between whatever you have open, so in case a program needs more memory, it's ready to go.

    But OS X can't make your programs use more memory, so the RAM will often go unused anyway even though it's allocated.
     
  17. Stocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #17
    The last sentence spells it out quite nicely. It's not really being used, nor is it necessary, or a benefit.
     
  18. joshlalonde macrumors 6502

    joshlalonde

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    Even better, people seem to ignore the Memory Pressure gauge. All the other numbers are practically meaningless, because they have little indication of performance.

    If you're in the green at the peek of your usage, then you probably don't need more RAM.

    But alas, people will continue to waste their money. But hey, that's good for Apple.
     
  19. Linuxpro, Feb 7, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015

    Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    It looks like they can get me the 8Gb. The price difference is not that much. Better safe than sorry.

    Thanx

    Oh, let me guess, the iMessage default to on when you set up a new MacBook I bet?!? I discovered that when you buy a new iPhone or iPad it always defaults to on. If your phone is set up with the iMessage switched off, when you restore your phone from backup, sure enough, your new phone has iMessage enabled again. You will have to have the presence of mind to "snarf" it off again.

    I assume I can completely uninstall iMessage from the Mac.
     
  20. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    Ok, well I tried. First I was told 8Gb would be no problem. So when I called back to place my order they sang a different "tune".

    I spoke to the other two Apple resellers in Singapore. One refuses to call me back no matter how many messages I leave.

    The two have any interest in selling an 8Gb notebook.

    No wonder Apple stock is going down. :eek:
     
  21. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #21
    Why are you killing yourself trying to find an (apparently extremely rare) 8GB model when you only need 4GB?
     
  22. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #22
    I'm confused. Is the initial 'they' Apple, or another reseller? The Apple Singapore webpages clearly state 1–3 days to shipping for the custom order, as others have said.
     
  23. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    There is no official apple store. If there is any dealer that can do three days, and will answer the phone, then sold!

    1. Tech@Vogue MNl - Three weeks.
    2. Istudio - Not interested in getting me an 8Gb model.
    3. Epic Center - Refuses to return calls.
    4. Newstead - Site is down.
    5. Courts - Portable devices only
    6. Newstead again - Site is down.
    7. MC2@Funan - Portable devices only

    Only three, of the above, carry anything but portable devices.

    I just noticed that there are more locations for most of the dealers.

    I will keep trying later. Cannot be messing around on the phone right now.
     
  24. Linuxpro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    I will probably be buying a 4GB unit. Two finally got back to me (after four days). I was quoted three weeks from one, and four weeks on the other.

    Strange that 8 GB is so rare.

    If I did not want a mac so bad, I could have an 8 GB, 256GB SSHD lightweight Windows machine by the end of the day for under $800. I would of course have put Linux on it or learn to make a Hackintosh. :rolleyes:

    Really I want to learn mac! :D
     
  25. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #25
    It's nice. Just get a 4GB model and you'll be happy. If you don't like it, you can sell it for almost as much as you paid.
     

Share This Page