So can I use NFC payments anywhere or what ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kalebnate, Oct 29, 2014.

1. kalebnate, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

kalebnate macrumors 6502

If I go to any shop that supports contactless payments, can I use Apple Pay ? Such as Tesco or Sainsbury's for example.

EDIT :

You CANNOT use Apple Pay if your credit/debit card is NON-US issued

2. CoilTap macrumors regular

Yes. As long as there's a working, enabled NFC reader, you're golden.

3. SusanK macrumors 68000

If there is an NFC terminal try it and see if the payment is processed.

I am not an expert on this topic. I read that Rite Aid and CVS disabled the NFC terminals in their stores. I have not seen any news items about other businesses doing so.

Good luck!

4. kalebnate thread starter macrumors 6502

So why is Apple showing what stores it is compatible with and that it's adding more in the future, along with people criticizing apple that the system will fail because of the low rate of adoption ?

5. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

dontwalkhand

There are many stores I go to that are not on Apple's list that have NFC here in Arizona. My swimming pool cleaning guy isn't going to pay Apple to be on their site, but they currently take my iPhone as payment all the time, he has a wireless terminal. Those stores on Apple's list just received "Apple specific training" or they have paid Apple to be on their site for extra advertising.

6. CoilTap macrumors regular

Apple is showing a list of stores that it has partnered with to ensure that every location of those stores have NFC readers. Stores not on that list may or may not have NFC terminals from one location to the next.

Remember, the same page on Apple's website tells you to just look for the NFC logo. I myself have used it on vending machines, taxies, public transit, etc. all of which are not on the magic list.

So, again, as long as the merchant has NFC terminals and the NFC is enabled, you're golden.