So share your Re-Rip Nightmares/Stories....

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by CrAkD, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    So I just got done with the 3rd season of a sitcom im ripping to my ATV. I had been using DVD Decrypter to rip the disc by selecting "select main movie files" then encoding with the handbrake universal feature (for my atv and iphone)

    I tested it with the first episode of the first season before I went into full assembly line mode ripping and encoding. First episode looked great soft subs even worked as CC's were on disc. So naturally I was ripping discs and encoding at the same time to get it done.

    Did seasons 1+2 last night and just finished up season 3 today. as I got to the last episodes on the last disc of season 3 I realized I was missing one as there was supposed to be 6 on that disc. So i went back to try and find it and as I did I noticed some episodes were half the length they were supposed to be which freaked me out so i started previewing them. some had COMMENTARY audio instead of regular audio!

    so I went back thru the other seasons and some episodes were just as perfect as the first but some were only clips or had a commentary track...so needless to say all the time I've spent on this in the past 2 days was for nothing as I now have to rerip and reencode everything all over again. Lesson of this story? Dont use dvd decrypter for tv shows! Im using dvd shrink now and its a little slower to get going but you can preview what your ripping and select which audio track you want for each episode and such.

    So have you guys ever got really far in ripping/encoding a collection only to realize there were issues and you had to do it all over again?
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    I did the entire Outer Limits series (49 episodes), then decided I didn't like the way it had processed the monochrome (iirc). I was a bit too hasty on "passing" my test rip. Oh well, gave me something to do for the next few days.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    I spent ages encoding and tagging every episode of Family Guy.

    Put (the untagged) files on my external drive thinking they were the tagged ones, and then deleted the tagged ones thinking they were the untagged ones! Took me ages to tag each episode with artwork and a synopsis!
     
  4. VoR macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I tag my files by updating thetvdb.com (which is down as I post this :p) with artwork/synopsis/etc and then using a decent media scraper - that way others can benefit from my hard work, and I can save time with (most) series that are already done.
     
  5. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #5
    I spent 2 + hours ripping a movie, and i finally got to test it out and the entire movie had green blotches all over teh screen and the audio was all crackly
     
  6. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    FYI...

    This thread has a great automation of the whole process including tagging and getting thumbnail images:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=805573

    Load in DVDs...choose whether it's a movie or TV show...have a script run overnight to encode all your movies while you sleep. Wake up the next day with movies/tv shows in iTunes!

    The scripts make it so easy. The setup looks daunting, but it really is simple. I was up and running in about 15 minutes. You can even set it up to email you when your movies are done encoding.

    (Sorry this wasn't a nightmare...I have had none with this procedure.)
     
  7. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    I'm on my phone at work so I haven't checked out the link yet but is it windows compatible? I redid them all last night ripped all the discs and then encoded well I was asleep. But I got 6 seasons left so I'm interested!
     
  8. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #8
    It's Mac-specific.
     
  9. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #9
    I've re-encoded the X-Files series three times now, including entering the custom chapter names for each episode and meticulously tagging everything.

    Damn Handbrake developers kept introducing new features and filters that improved the output enough to make me want to start over again! :D

    Seriously though, I just recently finished encoding my entire DVD and Bluray/HDDVD collection and have given serious thought to restarting the process as I can save a decent amount of storage by simply using the AppleTV preset for everything now that the iPhone 3GS supports more of the advanced features.
     
  10. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Whats the size difference between the universal presetband atv preset? I would imagine the universal is smaller to compatible with iPhone. I'm using the universal but I have a 3gs I've only done a little other then this tv series should I switch to the atv preset?
     
  11. rayward macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    I don't bother for TV shows (which I encode with the ATV preset, but check the iPod toggle), but for movies, I encode two versions, one for ATV and one using the iPhone preset. If you give each the same cnID, iTunes will nest them in the library as one movie, but retain both versions and distribute them as appropriate.

    I use Subler to add the cnID, and also make sure to set them both as a Movie, while checking the "HD" toggle for the ATV version (even if it isn't - ATV can tell the difference and won't tag a movie as HD unless the resolution is greater than 480). iTunes gives the movie the "HD-SD" tag in the library, and will feed the "HD" version to ATV and the "SD" version to my iPhone.
     
  12. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    how big of a quality difference between ATV and universal? Cause I dont really care about size on the phone as I have a 32gb 3GS and only need 1-2 movies on at a time. But if im significantly losing quality by picking the universal preset then ill start using the ATV preset.
     
  13. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #13
    Quality should be nearly identical (the presets were designed this way)... the AppleTV preset produces smaller files because it uses additional advanced x264 features (ex. b-frames) that typically results in a 10-20% smaller file. These advanced features are incompatible with some of the older Apple devices which is why they are disabled in the Universal preset.
     
  14. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    But they work on the 3gs? If so then no point in not using the atv setting and saving space. I have a 5g iPod but it stays in my car for music so I might as well save the space.
     
  15. jlindley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #15
    My heart just skipped a beat. That hurts! I did that with my entire iTunes Music library once... 10000+ songs.
     
  16. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #16
    Yes; AppleTV preset encodes will work on the iPhone 3GS as long as you're talking about DVD-resolutions. When the Universal preset was created, the iPhone (2G/3G) could not playback AppleTV preset encodes, and there were some of us who wanted to do one encode that would work across our Apple devices reliably.
     
  17. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #17
    Ok I was reading here that some people had sitcom shows down to like 250mb with the universal setting. I'm wondering why mine are coming out to 700mb for 24min
     
  18. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #18
    Using Apple > Universal I would say that is most unlikely from a sd dvd source.
     
  19. Scarpad macrumors 68000

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #19
    Well I just realized today, sittin at work, that the 3 HD movies I had set to encode today I forgot to set the FPS to 24, which means they will most likely be glitchcy and I will have to do them again. The only orther thigs tht gt me from time to time I don't test a chapter of a show to see if I need to Deinterlace it.
     
  20. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #20
    A suggestion: run decomb as your default setting. Will only deinterlace what needs to be othewise runs progressive frames untouched. In 0.9.4 it has a very small encoding speed hit even when it does not decomb. Look for the next snapshot from hb shortly which has a faster decomb algorithm which has *no* speed penalty if the source does not need to be decombed or deinterlaces ( translated: meaning there is no reason not to use it).
     
  21. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    yeah I just checked my new encodes and their only 3-400. I think before since I was using dvd encryptor it was using all the audio tracks even in the different languages. in dvd shrink I can select just the 1 audio track. so thats probably why the files were so big.
     

Share This Page