Software or Hardware Glitch

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by robduckett14, Oct 1, 2017.

  1. robduckett14 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has come across this situation on the iPhone 8 Plus. If I go to reboot the phone the come comes back up and it shows the screen for where it asks for the passcode. When I let the screen go off by itself or lock it manually and then turn the display back on the bottom half of the screen flashes white from about the middle of screen down. Has anyone come across this issue with there phones or has seen it at least. It does it every time the phone gets rebooted. Also another question does anybody else that has either an iPhone 8 or 8 Plus do you notice or does your device feel laggy when moving between apps opening apps there is a flicker when operating the phone normally. It just doesn't feel smooth to me at all. Is this just that it is a new iOS release or is this an issue that I should have it looked at. Operating the phone feels very glitchy and laggy (if that is a word).

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What software are you running? I will try this to see my results, but I have not noticed it. Might suggest a restore of the software if it concerns you.

    Sometimes I do notice frame drops or lag in operation, but it never permanent and smooths itself off. I think iOS 11 is in need of some optimization.
     
  3. robduckett14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #3
    iOS 11.0.1 . I have actually done a few already keeps doing it. It just started doing this Friday of last week. I agree it does hopefully this is just an issue with the software and it can be fixed with future updates I hate going to the Apple Store.
     
  4. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #4
    Haven't rebooted my phone yet, so not sure on mine.
     
  5. blairian89, Oct 1, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017

    blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I just tried it twice on my phone (8+ 256 11.0.1) and did not see what you are referencing. I tried it with a manual lock after start and letting the screen turn itself off after start. When I push the home button it immediately goes to the password screen without issue. If I hit the power button it goes to the lock screen without issue.

    By chance, when you restored did you set up as a new iPhone or did you restore from backup after software restore?
     
  6. robduckett14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #6
    I setup as new each time
     
  7. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Strange. I would wait until 11.1 is released (likely within the next month) and see if it resolves your issue. If the phone is otherwise functioning as it should be, I wouldn’t be terribly concerned. Glitches happen. It could very well be present in my phone and I either am not replicating it correctly or just not recognizing it.

    You do have a 1 year warranty if it is a hardware defect, so you are not in any danger waiting. You can also always try an exchange at this point in the game since the phone was released just over a week ago.
     
  8. robduckett14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #8
    Yeah I think an exchange is out of the question being that I already exchanged it once already. So I will probably have to just wait to see if the .1 update will fix it and yes the phone still operates normally its just that first one off of a reboot that it does it. I guess it is just a bit of an annoyance you pay so much money for a phone so you would expect it to work flawlessly but obviously that is not the case oh well. But I do appreciate the help though and you trying to reproduce it on your end.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 1, 2017 ---
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6l-R30qxwbDZk56N1BfUnljQ00

    Here is video of what I trying to explain, the video quality is crap being that I could only record on my MacBook you can kind of see it
     
  9. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #9
    It’s a software issue that was present in the beta
     
  10. robduckett14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #10
    Cool. I don't do too much beta testing with the iPhone I do more with my Mac Air. Well hopefully it will get fixed soon. Thank you all for the help it is much appreciated.
     

Share This Page

9 October 1, 2017