Solved battery drain issue!

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Gav2k, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I noticed like many my battery was going down quickly. After a little digging I found that the location services was running in the background. Check...

    System>location services>system services

    there is prob a purple arrow next to setting time zone. Since turning it off my battery has sat at 42% for 3 hours or so.
     
  2. BryanBensing macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #2
    Re:

    The purple arrow on mine is in Compass Calibration. The Setting Time Zone is gray
     
  3. Gav2k thread starter macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Sorry my point is those services in that section do not show up the location services arrow and run in the background.
     
  4. Deedolito macrumors regular

    Deedolito

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #4
    Thanks! Hope this will stop the drain - will have a look how it turns out :)
     
  5. Pennine macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Glossop UK
    #5
    Yeah mine is same so I've turned off the time zone one
    See what happens
     
  6. hundleton1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Wales UK
    #6
    nice find, there seems to be quite a few little hidden nastys in IOS5 its a bit sad really as i always loved IOS because you did not need to go around turning stuff off just to use it.

    starting to remind me of having to use MS CONFIG in windows, turning off the crap you dint need:mad:
     
  7. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #7
    Looks like it was the weather app for me. Rather than disable its location services I just took it out of the status bar so it isn't being used all the time. Twitter I might have to turn off though.
     
  8. Gav2k thread starter macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Sorry my point is those services in that section do not show up the location services arrow and run in the background.
     
  9. jbryant705 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #9
    If you turn off the status notification all it will do is not show you when it's using location services. Probably a bad idea. It will use location services just as much using your method and just won't let you know when it is.

    Also, apps will only use your location in the background if they need it (ie. Google Latitude). Apps like Twitter will only use your location when you're posting a tweet with your location attached.

    ----------

    Just a guess, but I'm pretty sure that pre-iOS 5 used the system location services just as much as they do now, but now you have the option of customizing their settings…
     
  10. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #10
    Which of these Systems Services do I need and not need ..... I'm not familiar with this screen or what some of these settings do???

    :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    • loc.png
      loc.png
      File size:
      180.4 KB
      Views:
      60
  11. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #11
    Settings / Location Services
    Why is there a Compass calibration on the iPad?
    isn't it an "iPhone only" thing?... I can't see any compass app on my iPad
    I've read somewhere that other apps make use the Compass, like google maps... how can I notice it's actually using a compass?
     
  12. daftpunkstu, Oct 18, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011

    daftpunkstu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #12
    If you point your ipad in a direction whilst using maps, it will point in that direction, that's the compass working for you[​IMG]
     
  13. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #13
    Thanks... that's what I thought
    but compass is set On by default, and I've never seen it working on Google Maps. What do I have to do to make use of it?
     
  14. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #14
    Tap the location arrow while in Maps.
     
  15. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #15
    NICE!
    I had to tap it twice...
    the first one was to make it find me, the second one to enable compass.
     
  16. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #16
    Yep, it may be 2. Mine was already on my location.
     
  17. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    You don't have to take it out of the notifications center, just disable the "local weather" feature. That will turn on the GPS anytime it checks the weather. You can just put in your zip code for the local weather.
     
  18. joshmacbosh macrumors member

    joshmacbosh

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #18
    In plain english, what does having this turned off disable?
     
  19. james-bailey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #19
    please can somebody explain what advantages are of keeping the the Cell Network Search on?

    Ive turned all of them off, but kept on the Status Bar Icon just in case
     
  20. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Anyone care to chime in on what they think each setting is actually for? I'm thinking the weather might be used each time you pull the notification center down. I do this alot which might explain my issues.
     
  21. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    Here are my guesses (I don't know)
    Cell Network Search
    - Perhaps this gives the phone a better idea of where it is and it can
    seek out the proper cell network given its location (this is the one I'm
    least sure about.

    Compass calibration
    - Magnetic north differs from True north depending on where you are
    around the globe. The east cost of the US is 16'W and the 12'E on the
    west coast. That is a swing of 38 degrees and that matters to your compass
    (and you if you are trying to navigate by it)

    Diagnostic & Usage
    - Seems obvious - they want to know where you are and what you are doing

    Location-based iAds
    - Seems obvious - provide you relevant ads

    Setting timezone
    - Assume this figures out the timezone from where you are using GPS
    Probably used to do this by figuring out where you are by tower data

    Traffic
    - Google maps seems to do this on its own. I wonder if the other tools
    rely on some iPhone service to do it.
     
  22. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #22
    So besides the cell tower search, the rest are not that big a deal. The cell towers can provide the correct time zone. iAds (really)?

    I don't use the compass at all, if I do, I'll turn this on.

    Traffic is cool, but not enough so to worry about

    Thanks!
     
  23. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #23
    cell network search - this one comes on when you have no reception. the purple arrow will be display on your status bar to show that it is searching for the closest tower.
     
  24. meder87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #24
    Yep I figured that out this morning. I've decided that when i'm sitting at home or at work i'm gonna turn off location services to preserve battery power.
     
  25. Pravda macrumors 6502a

    Pravda

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #25
    By turning off location services, does it turn off system services as well?
     

Share This Page