SOLVED! Get info pane doesn't show the image demensions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dronex, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. dronex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi there everyone!

    Something that's bugging me recently is whenever I look up or some info of my images, there are no info about an image's dimesnion. But as I remembered that usually it should be there. And I just don't know where did it go. This really bugging me, so if anyone can help, please reply!

    UPDATE: I found that not only my pictures info got lost, so are my MP3 files, are all become only displaying the title and last opened time. Frustration!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    That's odd. The dimensions are usually the first thing listed under "More Info". I've also never seen "Title" and "Headline" listed for .jpg files either.

    Does the file function as expected?
     
  3. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #3
    Yes, it opens as expected. But it's just not showing any info on the Get Info window. Haha, I guess it's a strange file name, but it works well on opening and editing.
     
  4. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #4
    Does anyone know how do I fix it? Please? This is making me so mad!!
     
  5. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #5
    How were the files created? Were they imported? downloaded? Did you happen to just change the extension to .jpg? Looks like they were probably another file format first and then converted to .jpg files and the info was lost along the way.
     
  6. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #6
    They're just simply downloaded from the Internet... Wallpapers, etc. And I've checked that all of the images had changed to something like this... It's even happening on other file formats like png, gif, etc.! Really strange...
     
  7. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #7
    um, no reply?... Does anyone has a solution for me?

    Another thing, there's also nothing shown up on the "show item info" when it's ticked in the "view options" menu...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #8
    Is the problem affecting only those particular files you've downloaded from the 'net, or all files on your Mac?
     
  9. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #9
    Everything!!!!

    Really really thank you for the quick reply!! I can tell you that it's every file I opened in Get Info has this problem... From normal MP3 files, to any applications!

    Now I'm thinking if it's because of the system files. Yea, with the related infos like those image dimension which usually be appearing, are all gone, leave just a white space with no W x H whatsoever...
     
  10. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
  11. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
  12. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #12
    Does getting info on one of the problem files work from within it's application (ie. a song in iTunes, etc.)? Have you Repaired Permissions since this problem started?
     
  13. Westacular macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #13
    This is a Spotlight problem. Finder doesn't read those properties from the files directly -- rather, all the details under "More Info" are read from Spotlight's indexed metadata for the file. (You can look this up for a file in Terminal using "mdls")

    Is Spotlight otherwise behaving correctly? Did you tinker with it, disable it, or is it still indexing? Did you recently install any applications that might've interfered with Apple's standard/default metadata importers?

    If the problem persists, you could try erasing and rebuilding the Spotlight index.
     
  14. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #14
  15. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #15
    Thanks for the reply.... I'm at school right now, so I think I'll try the re-index spotlight when i back home. Thanks! I'll report back if it's working after that!
     
  16. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #16
    nothing changed...?

    Hmm, did the re-index, so as the Onyx automation, usually the Spotlight icon on the top right will have a dark fading dot inside it. And when clicked there should be a "barber" bar showing how many minutes are left until finish indexing. But, I now found that it's not happening!

    This is so rare that I couldn't believe that it will happen on me!:confused:
     
  17. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #17
    So, you did the re-index according to the Apple link I posted and it won't re-index? Is this referring to your entire hard drive, a folder, what? I don't understand the part of your message about OnyX, what does that have to do with this? Also, did you see the message from Westacular, does any of that apply?
     
  18. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #18
    So, I did the re-index by dragging the whole Macintosh HD drive into the Privacy window there, and then remove it as the help doc told me to. And it didn't show the dark dot inside the spotlight icon.

    And I saw that Onyx has a function about erasing the Spotlight index, so I did that too, so I can make sure the Spotlight index can be rebuilt.

    About the Spotlights functionality, I think I didn't do anything to it, I would only use it to search specific things like my photos and stuffs. Things looked normal there, only after the Onyx rebuild, it won't re-index.


    Erm, what applications, for example, would interfere the Apple's metadata importer? I'm not really sure that I had done something like this though.

    Here's the screenshot of the same file using normal "Get info", and the Terminal mdls", so as the Spotlight after rebuild.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #19
    I don't know of anything that would affect Apple's metadata importer, maybe Westacular will post with something that he's aware of.

    After you deleted the Spotlight index with OnyX, did you try the procedure with the Privacy tab to see if it would restart it with indexing? Have you tried shutting down and restarting your Mac to see if it makes any difference?
     
  20. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #20
    Yup, after the Onyx procedure, I restarted the Mac, then throw the Mac HD inside, and I removed it out, finally with a restart. But, well, still no results...:(
     
  21. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #21
    I think I'm at the end-of-the-line on this as far as my knowledge goes, the only other thing I can think of is to create another user account on your Mac and see if it has the same problem or not. If it does it's something system wide, if it doesn't it's something in your current user account.
     
  22. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #22
    Sigh, as I expected, it's also the same when I opened a new admin account. Still no results in the More Info field... Oh My God, but is there a possibility like a .plist file being corrupted that made it doesn't work? I once had a problem with the Dictionary app, and when I was adviced to delete some specific file inside the System folder, it finally reset and worked.

    Not really sure what happened to my Mac...!
     
  23. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #23
    Maybe you could try posting a new topic using something like "Spotlight won't re-index" as the title, that might draw more responses. I suppose it could be something as simple as a plist, but I just don't know. Sorry.
     
  24. dronex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #24
    Thanks!

    No worries. i think I will be posting a new post later on.

    EDIT: It's finally solved! Couldn't believe this new approach gives much faster response! Thanks all!
     
  25. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #25
    You can't leave us hanging, how did you fix this? It's important to post that here as it may help others with the problem.
     

Share This Page