Some Ques. BEFORE i buy my First Mac.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ayon, Feb 20, 2009.

1. ayon macrumors newbie

USER STUFFS

First of all let me introduced to you. I am a complete newbie in macworld.
    I don't own a mac. None of my friend does. I haven't touched a Mac.
    I am going to buy a new Laptop next week and this is going to be first switch for eight years. Need not to mention that all these years i was a dedicated Windows user.

I am from Bangladesh. Its a South-Asian Country. So

1) Mac is not available here.(only 3 shops sell Apple stuff in this country of 160 million people.)

2)Weather is very humid and dust is a common fact in here. If Macbook is vulnerable to dust then i have to start looking for a VAIO or HP.

NOW lets get down to what i do with my PC. I am writing downward according to my needs.

1)Torrent - I am Extreme torrent user 24/7

2)Facebooking / Online Surfing

3)Chatting in YM and MSN

4)Listening to Musics/Watching DVD

5)PDF reading - I consider myself a serious student.

6)Dvd Writing - as a am hardcore collector of music and movie i sometime bring my friends' Harddrive and write the whole damn thing to blank dvd?

Now first four mentioned above are likely to work together.
    <Q1>
    I know that this is not that much of a multitasking but i want to be sure will a 2 GB ram be enough?
    <Q2>
    How much can a superdrive handle? I am going to get extreme on writing DVDs. Should i try an external writer.
    <Q3>
    I will be using a lot of Pendrive and USB external Harddrive.In windows its a commont fact to get virus through USB. Wil that happen to mac too?

What i Don't Do with my PC. that is to help you answering my questions.

1)Games - I am not into games. I may try some Card games time to time. I am a poker addict.

2)Sound or Video editing - I may try some simple Video editing Just for laugh gag some time.

3)3D designing