Somethings wrong with my HDD icon

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OCSpersonel, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. OCSpersonel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #1
    So it booted up fine, halfway through the day i noticed my HDD icon was different. It looked like it was highlighted. And if i tried to click on it it wouldnt work. Looked and acted the same in the finder.


    HELP!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    It looks normal. If it were selected, there would be a faint square line around the icon and the text would be highlighted.

    When you say "Finder", to you mean in the sidebar? (The Desktop is the Finder, too.)
     
  4. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #4
    im afraid to restart it haha

    and yah in the sidebar is what i ment
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    Highlighted, not selected. The icon in the screenshot is considerably paler than normal.

    Don't be.

    In Finder, press command+shift+C. Can you open your hard drive there?
     
  6. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    It looks the same after restarting or in the Finder window where I suggested?
     
  8. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
  9. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    My pleasure. There are very few computer problems that can't be solved with a restart. Or a good hard whack with a rock.
     
  11. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #11
    My TimeCapsule sometimes appears as a Cinema Display in my sidebar. I just leave it to sort itself.
     

Share This Page