SSD for 2010 White Unibody MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Flex29, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. Flex29 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    #1
    Hi

    Looking at getting an SSD for my late 2010 2.4Ghz white unibody MacBook.

    I originally was looking at crucial but apparently there drives aren't the fastest?

    I then heard that the Samsung 840 was a really good drive, but found a post on apple support where a guy with my machine just couldn't get the 840 to work?

    Does anybody have any experience of any SSDs in the late 2010 white unibody MacBook?

    Thanks
     
  2. jlmurphy3 macrumors newbie

    jlmurphy3

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Crucial M4 256 SSD

    Recently installed a Crucial M4 256GB SSD in my mid-2010 white MacBook in place of the oem 250GB HDD. Moved HDD to the disc player position and converted the disc player into an external device with an adapter. Everything running fine.
     
  3. Flex29 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
  4. BeeJee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island/North Jersey
    #4
    The Samsung and Crucial only really vary in benchmarks. I have an M4 and it opens my applications instantly, literally no room for improvement. You will only notice a difference moving VERY large files. Installing apps happens in seconds as well. You can update the firmware directly on a Mac with the M4. You need a Windows PC to update the Samsung, however I haven't updated from my 000F
     
  5. Emathieu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #5
  6. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #6
    Actually, your 2010 MacBook only has SATA-II, so you won't benefit from the fastest drives around, as they are SATA-III.
    Take a look at the SanDisk Ultra Plus, it's on par with a Samsung 840 Pro when it comes to read speeds on SATA-II.
     
  7. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #7
    I went with intel for reliability over absolute speed given its hard to notice the difference between SSD's in real usage.

    The best intel drive when i upgraded was the x25m, they've probably got better ones out now but I highly recommend the brand - 3 years and no problems, rock solid reliability just as expected.

    Also i have the 2010 uMB too :)

    edit: probably worth maxing out the ram to 4GB whist the guts are exposed.
     
  8. Flex29 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    #8
    I'm keen to go for reliability too, sounds like the crucial and intel drives are the ones to go for!
     
  9. BeeJee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island/North Jersey
    #9
    They are, however the cost per GB tends to be a little lower for the M4's. Btw I own an M4 and have had 0 problems. Couldn't ask for more out of it
     
  10. symber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    London
  11. jlmurphy3 macrumors newbie

    jlmurphy3

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
  12. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #12
    I just put a 240 GB Intel 330 SSD in my 2010 MacBook and, while I know it's only SATA II, the benchmarks kinda suck. Using BlackMagic DiskSpeedTest, I am only getting 102 MB/s write and 134 MB/s read. Is this all I should expect?
     
  13. symber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I've not done this upgrade yet, but I'm pretty sure it should be faster than that. My Thunderbolt HDD clocks around 100 MB/s read and write...
     
  14. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #14
    I think I figured out the problem with the Intel 330 240GB SSD. For some reason, the 2010 MacBook is not running it at SATA II speeds (3.0), but rather it is running at SATA I speed (1.5). I had also observed this on the stock 5400 RPM HDD.

    I haven't tried the Samsung 830 or any other drives yet in the 2010 white MacBook. Do any of you have this same slower "negotiated" link speed on your drives? On my 2012 MBA, it says 6 Gigabit for both. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #15
    I installed the 128 GB Samsung 830 SSD into the 2010 MacBook tonight. This drive seems to be running at the appropriate SATA II speed. Says 3 Gigabit for both Link and Negotiated Link.

    Using BlackMagic DiskSpeedTest, I am getting 198 MB/s write and 248 MB/s read with this Samsung SSD drive.

    I guess the Intel 330 just doesn't adjust correctly. When I transplanted the Intel 330 into a Windows machine tonight (with a SATA III interface), it benchmarked just fine.
     
  16. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #16
    I put the 128G Samsung 830 SSD drive into my Mid 2010 MB (see sig). Since it'ds only SataII, it will not run at it's full potential. However, it's blazing fast. Boot up from being powered off in 16 seconds.

    I've had no issues at all with my Samsung. I'd consider the Crucial M4 too but, I got a better deal on the Samsung 830.

    Ohh BTW, you should add 16Gs of ram to your MB as well. ;)
     
  17. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
  18. maxdyy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    #18
    Hi guys, I'm new to the mac world but I just get a macbook white 2010 for my daily usage, university studies and office/video/photo editing.

    Till I have some money, I'm thinking to update it to ensure that it will be running fast and smooth for min a year or may be two.

    So I'm getting a 120 SSD and 8 gb Ram.

    I think the M4 crucial is really good, but I've read about people having problems with their SSDs on macs :confused:
    I can get one of this 120 SSDs at the same price:
    Kingston V300 (already using for my PC)
    Samsung 840 Series Basic
    Sandisk Ultra Plus
    Crucial M4
    Ocz Agility 3

    Which one is better for my mac?

    For Rams I'm just going to get G.Skill 8GB PC 1066 CL7 APPLE (2x4GB)
     
  19. soapsudz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #19
    I'm getting this issue as well. It happens occasionally with the hard drive in the optical bay but it happens all the time with my Kingston V200+ SSD in either ODD or main drive bays. I think it's an issue with the Nvidia SATA controller and the SSD not negotiating the link properly, and the problem could occur with other drives using the same Sandforce chipset.

    Shutting down, then powering up sometimes fixes this, but it always appears again after waking up from hibernation.
     
  20. theclassicmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    #20
    @OP/maxdyy - I recently purchased an OWC 3G SSD after seeing that the 6G SSD would only run at SATA I speeds (attached image of their note on the 6G SSD page).

    Also, to backup @mwhities statement, I would recommend both an SSD and upgrading to 8 or 16GB RAM as well if you are planning on keeping it for awhile :).
     

    Attached Files:

  21. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #21
    I did that and plan to keep mine for the next 3-4 years at least. I'll need to get a bigger drive of course.
     
  22. jchase2057 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #22
    you can go up to 16gb in these machines.
     
  23. manliopetrone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #23
    help

    I have macbook mid 2010 unibody white ... just like yours. I just bought a Samsung MZ-7TD250BW, SSD 840 250 GB Stand Alone" which I guess it will work just like yours.

    The only thing I have no idea it is how to replace it.
    Could you gently provide me with a step by step instructions?
    I really thank you.

    Manlio
     
  24. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #24
    While you may not need a Windows PC, you need a DOS boot CD:

     
  25. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #25
    I have not done it myself, but based on other user posts on here, I believe you can create and run that CD entirely on a Mac. The instruction PDF on the page seems to say that also.
     

Share This Page