SSD in 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gadgetgirl85, Jun 15, 2014.

  1. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible to put an SSD in the most recent 27" iMac? I can't imagine it would be easy but is it possible at all?
     
  2. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
  3. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  4. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #5
  5. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #6
    Many things are possible. Not all of those are advisable. This is one that definitely isn't for all but the most die hard and experienced DIY'er.

    It's also pointless when you can buy one with an SSD already in, or you can attach one via the USB 3 port. If I owned one without and desperately wanted one with, I'd either do the latter, or take the financial hit, sell it and buy one with an SSD already fitted in by Apple.
     
  6. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #7
    nah let her DIY gives better girl experience working on her own iMac again if she doesn't break it!
     
  7. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    Knowing me id break it. So what benefit would I get if I attached via usb 3? Would it be like having one inside?
     
  8. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #9
    Sounds dumb having usb 3 connect through iMac for me I prefer internal inside so get a ssd with the size you need probably 1TB end of story.
     
  9. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #10
    If you haven't purchased the cumputer yet, then definitely look into either a fusion drive or a 256GB SSD. If you already have the computer, USB 3.0 isn't the worst interface, but it isn't the best either. Over the lifespan of the drive, some of the storage will go bad. A feature called TRIM helps to partition off that bad storage, keeping your performance up. Thunderbolt is the only interface that supports TRIM externally. It is really expensive though, so get an internal SSD if you possibly can.

    It is very risky to replace an HDD on an iMac. Strongly suggest not attempting it, as you can easily rack up 1000$ or more in damages if you don't know exactly what you are doing. It will also void your warranty.

    Matt
     
  10. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  11. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #12
    I'm doing a 512 gb ssd thunderbolt external drive. Drive was 199, enclosure about 80, cable 30.
     
  12. Jingleballz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #13
    Nothings impossible, but with All-In-Ones. I wouldn't!
     
  13. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #14
    Yeah don't get an all in one iMac get a New Mac Pro instead with everything max out.
     
  14. joe-h2o macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #15
    Ignore David85, he's trolling.

    This upgrade is possible, but it is advanced - you want to have some previous DIY experience if possible.

    The difficult part is removing the screen without damaging the connectors on the logic board - they are more fragile than they appear and are easily broken. Taking care at this point is prudent, but after that it's a relatively straightforward job.
     
  15. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #16
    It would. Except for the inability to enable TRIM.

    If I were you, I'd just save the trouble and go for a 256GB SSD, or save up some more and go for a 512GB.

    Having an external SSD over Thunderbolt will also give good performance for the average people, although you may not get full SATA3 speeds (since it's a single drive and also due to some overhead over the TB connection).

    I've a 21.5" iMac (Haswell) with a 256GB SSD, along with an external SSD (840 Pro 256GB) mounted in a Buffalo HD-PATU3 TB enclosure (purely used for Boot Camp), and here's my results:

    Internal 256GB SSD (SM0256F): 670 MB/s write and 720 MB/s read.

    External 256GB SSD (840 Pro):
    When mounted in TB enclosure: 350MB/s write and 420MB/s read.
    When mounted via a native SATA3 connection in a cMBP: 460MB/s write and 500 MB/s read.

    IRL, you won't see much of a difference. But if you're going to do I/O intensive stuff, it's going to be pretty noticeable.
     
  16. Sicutz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #17
    You need to heat the iMac up and destroy some glue lines, after that everything is fine.

    The last design models had magnets, it was very easy. But apple is like "nah, the ppl start buying cheap storage and install there own storage, BUT WE WANT THE MONEY!!!"

    -> glue instead of magnets


    If you had succsess with the glass, you still need to put it back on - good luck!
     
  17. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #18
    Which 512 gb SSD did you buy, if you don't mind sharing?
     
  18. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #19
    Crucial mx100 512 gb. 199 free shipping at b&h photo
     
  19. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #20
    Thank you. What enclosure do you have? This is a bit new to me.
     
  20. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #21
    Have anyone paid Apple to replace the HDD ? How much will they charge?
     
  21. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #22

    I got the seagate tb adapter from b and h photo as well. Then I bought a external hd case from eBay for like 15 dollars shipped. It all went in great. Sitting on a backpack twelve south shelf hidden away.

    Was looking at the delock ac powered tb enclosure. Been told ac power is better but reviews I've read say what I have is fine especially with the newer ssds being more efficient. One less cord is nice.
     
  22. SaSaSushi, Jun 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014

    SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #23
    I'm aware you weren't asking me but I've been using a Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD in the Delock 42490 enclosure for the past 4 months split half and half between Mavericks and BootCamp and couldn't be more pleased with it.

    I do recommend AC power as there can be power spikes with Thunderbolt drives although the power requirements for recent devices seem to be decreasing. If you're just going to be parking it behind the iMac to boot the system, why not go with AC?

    The Delock is aluminum, extremely lightweight and well constructed. It is fanless and about the only con I can say about it is that it lacks a TB pass through port so it needs to be at the end of any TB daisy chain.
     
  23. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #24
    Great info, I really appreciate the help!
     
  24. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #25
    I've ordered the above drive and enclosure. Does a power cord/supply come with the enclosure, or do I have to purchase that separately? The amazon description indicates that it comes with the wall plug, but another listing says it's not included.
     

Share This Page