SSD in new Mac Mini urgent help needed!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Ahead123, Apr 7, 2012.

1. Ahead123 macrumors newbie

Hi, in another post I was telling my story installing an SSD (Corsair Force Sata III) in a new Mac mini. Everything went well except that after cloning OS Lion to the new SSD I would get a Kernel panic at boot.

I thought the cloning went wrong so I re-installed OS X Lion from Apple servers (14 hours download), only to be greeted this morning by the same Kernel panic which is "Unable to find driver for this platform: \"ACPI\"

I am now totally stuck without a clue on how to proceed. I am new to Mac. I can't keep downloading and trying again because it takes so long. Any help very much appreciated!!

(I also upgraded the RAM to 16Gb at the same time of the SSD upgrade, could this be a RAM related error?)

2. LaWally macrumors 6502a

First rule of change management: change one thing at a time and make sure everything is okay after each change. That way you won't have to try to figure out which change you introduced might be causing the problem.

I would make sure the RAM is properly seated and try to boot again. If that does not work I would back out the RAM upgrade as that will be the easier of the two changes to undo. See if that helps.

If you still have the same problem you can try to boot into Safe mode and run disk utility to check file permissions, etc. See the following for Safe mode:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1455

3. LaWally macrumors 6502a

4. Ahead123 thread starter macrumors newbie

I have rebooted pressing SHIFT which should be safe mode, however, it rebooted in the Lion welcome screens (time, username, location etc.) and then I was greeted with the standard Lion desktop. So I do not believe it's in safe mode? Sorry for these silly question I got my 1st Mac three days ago.
    Also the case is quite warm at 95 F (35C) degrees, I can not hear any fan - is that normal? How do I run some diagnostics??