SSD upgrade of mid 2009 MacBook how?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by shankar2, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. shankar2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #1
    Hi i have a mid 2009 MacBook white colored. I want to install a ssd drive instead of original magnetic drive

    Is there any kit available that can make my task easier? Kindly assist
     
  2. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
  3. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #3
    Try the OWC web site: www.macsales.com
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You don't need any type of kit. The new SSD is a direct fit replacement. Just follow this video walkthrough.

    About the best bang for the buck right now for an SSD is either the Crucial MX200 or the Samsung EVO 850. Just grab whichever of this you can find cheapest.
     
  5. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #5
    So sansung evo 850 will fit in the space allowed for the magnetic drive?
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
  7. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Exactly.
    It's the same size
    Your existing hard drive is a 2.5-inch device, and you will discover that any SATA SSD will fit in the same position.
    It will likely be thinner than your existing hard drive, but that's a Good Thing™. :D
     
  9. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #9
    What's the difference between the mx200 and the bx200. I just picked up a 2007 MacBook.
     
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - On that machine, probably nothing. MX200 is a medium to high performance drive. BX200 is a budget drive.
     
  11. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #11
    Thanks! One more question. Any specific company for RAM?
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    The MX uses MLC NAND chips that are rated for more write cycles than the TLC NAND in the BX. Also the MX has a larger RAM cache and is faster is about every read/write speed test.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 19, 2016 ---
    Meh... RAM is RAM as long as you get the correct spec from a reliable vendor. Just grab whatever is cheapest from a good vendor. What I usually do is use the Crucial scanner app thing to ID the model number RAM module and specs then search for that part number on Amazon. For some odd reason, the same Crucial part number is usually cheaper in Amazon that on crucial.com.
     
  13. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #13
    - No, they're all pretty much identical. For peace of mind, though, I like to stay with the large established vendors such as Corsair, Crucial, and Kingston when possible. You should make sure it's the correct spec for your rather old machine. If you've provided the correct information, that's DDR2 667 MHz. Up to 6 GB if Late 2007; 3 GB if Mid 2007.
     
  14. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #14
    Thank you!
     
  15. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
  16. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #16
  17. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #17
    I was wondering if the old and new hd have different interface
     
  18. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #18
    - Physically, they fit together and are compatible both ways. You're right, though, that your machine and old hard drive use SATA II whereas any new SSD you buy will use SATA III. This just means your machine can't take advantage of the full capabilities of the SSD, but it'll still work fine.
     
  19. witherwings, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016

    witherwings macrumors member

    witherwings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #19
    I've installed a 3rd party SSD from OCZ on my 2010 MacBook Pro, but I believe should be similar.

    Just make sure you have correct screwdrivers. The screws from my HHD bracket attached to my drive are T6 instead of Philips screwdriver.

    Apart of that, a standard 2.5" SSD will fit without any problem. And don't worry if is SATA-3 or SATA-6. My Mac is a SATA-3 and my SSD is a SATA-6. The motherboard will recognise and adapt the speed.

    I've also activated TRIM as well using the Terminal command "sudo trimforce enable" in El Capitan.
     
  20. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #20
    Hi guys exactly what type of screwdrivers are required ? Thanks
     
  21. DavidLynch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    #21
    Torx T6. It's an incredibly easy swap.
     
  22. Jack Neill macrumors member

    Jack Neill

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    #22
    Be careful with the Nvidia WhiteBooks, they hate SandForce and they wont get 6.0GBs. I use a PNY and it works great
     
  23. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #23
    Yes ... you just swap them out. It's incredibly easy to do yourself. I'd highly recommend getting the iFixIt tool set. I've used it countless times over the years for various projects.
     
  24. shankar2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #24
    Also the old macbook hd cable interface will work with the new ssd interface?
     
  25. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #25
    The 2009 uses SATA II 3.0 Gbps so you won't be getting the full speed of the SSD, but you'll be maxing out the bandwidth throughput with the SSD for your Mac, something a hard drive could never do. You don't need to worry about the cable. You just replace the hard drive with the SSD.
     

Share This Page