SSD Vs. 7200 RPM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AMacbook, Jun 13, 2011.

1. AMacbook macrumors member

Well, I'm getting the 15inch 2.2ghz Macbook Pro in a few weeks and I was wondering if the 128GB SSD was worth it since its only $90 and normally it would be like $240 or is the 7200 RPM anygood.
    :D

2. ZombieZakk macrumors 6502

is space or speed more important? yes the ssd will be quicker but without doing the optibay conversion is 128gb enough for you? if yes then no brainer if not then either get the ssd and do optibay or go with the 7200rpm

3. AMacbook, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011

AMacbook thread starter macrumors member

In the long run I would probably still need to use externals either way but what SSD do apple use? And how does it compare to Vertex 3 or Intel 320? What is the Conversion?

4. JR1993 macrumors regular

(NOTE: I have no hands on experience, but have looked into this a lot as I am getting the same system as you with SSD)

If you are transfering/reading/writing very large files, you will maybe want to go for an aftermarket SSD as it will do the job nearly twice as fast with a Vertex 3

However, if you are an everyday laptop user, the difference between an Apple SSD and the vertex 3 is so small, that it is not worth spending extra money getting a vertex 3 when the apple on is a cheap upgrade.

Also, you have peace of mind about having latest firmware/drivers with the apple ssd, native TRIM support (with no hacks), and the warranty with applecare.

There is a performance difference, but in my particular case, the pros outweighed the cons, so im going apple.

5. AMacbook thread starter macrumors member

I play games but don't do HUGE amounts of video editing etc. so would I notice thw diffrence?

6. Kyllle macrumors 6502

If you don't mind spending the extra $90, then definitely go for the SSD. If you're considering upgrading any other part of the machine, upgrade the SSD first.