SSD wont recognized in macbook pro mid 2012

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alin Iulian, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. Alin Iulian macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #1
    Hello ! This might been asked before but i cant found any solution.

    I had an mid 2009 mbp with a 60gb Kingston V300 SSD and in optick bay another hdd with 500gb. I moved all in mid 2012 mbp but the SSD wont be recognized and its not showing up in Disk Utility also. The SSD work very good in 2009 but not in 2012. Also the hdd is working good in 2012.

    WHAT CAN BE THE PROBLEM ?

    Thanks !
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    So just to clarify:

    1) Original HDD in 2012 13" MBP boots fine
    2) When fitting w/60GB SSD instead of the HDD (in the same bay) it doesn't boot or recognise the drive in Disk Utility? But then putting back the 500GB HDD works fine?

    Or is the issue slightly different to what I've described?
     
  3. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #3
    @keysofanxiety YES !
    this 2012 came with an WD 500 and is working fine. i put it even my Seagate 500 and is working fine. both are booting good. my Kingston V300 SSD 60gb works good on 2009 mbp but not in 2012. is not showing him on disk utility.
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Which OS is installed on the Kingston? And are you accessing Disk Utility through Internet Recovery or a different way?
     
  5. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #5
    i have 1x ssd 2x hdd and 1x external hdd. all they have mavericks installed.
    i tried to acces disk utility with Recovery but also from one of those HDD.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 28, 2016 ---
    @keysofanxiety ... nothing ?
    should i format my ssd and then put it on 2012 ? i know that is not necesarily...
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Honestly I have no idea why it would work in one and not the other. The 13" 2012s do have common issues with the SATA cable failing, though if the other two drives work fine and show up in DU, that would indicate that's probably not the issue.

    As the SSD works in the 2009, that would indicate the SSD itself is OK...

    All I can think of is that the SSD was released about 3 years ago. I dunno, maybe there's something that just doesn't work nicely with a 2012. I appreciate that's a terrible answer though.

    You could maybe try putting the original HDD back in the 2012 and fully update to El Cap. Perhaps there'll be a firmware update installed with the OS, which might spring it into life when you put the SSD back in...
     
  7. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #7
    i dont want to put el capitan. is not working well with Traktor DJ...
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    It's the hard drive bay SATA cable in the 2012.
    It's quite common for a failing cable to function with spinning hard drives but show issues or not work at all with SSDs.
     
  9. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #9

    Ok...if i buy another one and i still have the same problem...? What to do ?
     
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - Let's cross that bridge when we get there. It's extremely unlikely.
    If you have another SSD, you can test with that. If I'm right, that should exhibit issues, too.
     
  11. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #11
    On my way to do thus right now.
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    Alin -

    One way to check the SSD vs. the hard drive ribbon cable, is to take the SSD out of the MacBook, and then connect it via USB3. You can use either a 2.5" USB3 enclosure, a USB3/SATA "docking station", or a USB3/SATA "adapter dongle".

    If the drive boots and runs the MacBook via USB, but WON'T boot when mounted internally, that would point towards the ribbon cable...
     
  13. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #13
    - The SSD is already confirmed working in another machine.
     
  14. MacInTO, Jul 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2016

    MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #14
    What's happening when it is booting with the SSD installed? Are you getting to the Apple screen with the progress bar?

    I'm getting a similar situation, but reverse. I took a SSD out of a 2011 13" mbp (i7 2.8) and put it into a 2009 13" mbp(c2d 2.26) and the status bar goes to the end and then nothing. Hard drives work fine but not the SSD.

    The SSD is a Corsair Force LE 480GB.

    Edit:

    I put the SSD in an external Firewire enclosure and I was able to boot it from that, but not from the internal bay.
     
  15. Alin Iulian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Alin Iulian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    #15
    I buyed another cable for hdd and it works great ! Dont know but mbp mid 2012 has this problem...very bad "plastic" :)
     
  16. MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #16
    Would a defective cable only affect SSDs and not hard drives?
     
  17. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #17
    Quite possibly due to the much higher data rate it can achieve.
     
  18. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #18
    - Glad to hear it worked out. :)

    - Yes, quite commonly.
     

Share This Page