Star explodes halfway across the universe

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by JNB, Mar 21, 2008.

1. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

Dang... and some people still believe that the universe is only ~10,000 years old :rolleyes:

That is truly amazing, it is hard to believe the universe is as massive as it is.

3. Loge macrumors 68020

Loge

Yes, but does it count if no-one actually saw it? ;)

4. MacNut macrumors Core

MacNut

Thats not a good thought.

5. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

So if a star explodes and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

6. c073186 macrumors 6502a

How can it be "halfway" across the universe if the universe is infinitely large and has no end?

7. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

We recorded it though. So it happened.

EDIT: The Universe is not infinite.

8. c073186 macrumors 6502a

Oh well pardon me, I am not a scientist. That's just what they told us in elementary school ;)

9. strider42 macrumors 65816

strider42

From what I've seen on TV, if we were in the direct line of one of these gmb's, it would kill most if not all life on earth in a very short time. Forget about near by planets, these things are powerful enough to kill from many, many light years away. Now that's scary.

10. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

I wasn't trying to be chauvinist. Anyway think of the age of the Universe (+/-14 billion years) as a distance in light years. Therefore if you could travel, instantly, this distance you would end up at the end of the Universe, or perhaps you'd end up right back where you started (if the Universe is round like the Earth). But it's proposed the Universe is flat so you'd reach some sort of limit or something (no one really knows what's outside the Universe).

11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

well whats on the other side of the wall where it stops? nothing....like space? lol