Starcraft 2 Lags Everything Else...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Finox831, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Finox831 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #1
    Every time I open Starcraft2 in window mode and I try to tab to a web page or skype or even when I type it's all super laggy, like when I type It will take forever for it to even register and when I open a page it will lag a lot (will take a few seconds to even open) pretty much making it impossible to do anything else unless I close SC2. Has anyone else had this problem? what could I possibly do to fix this?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    There's nothing really wrong with your CPU and nothing you can really do to "fix" that. If you have a system monitor app like iStat, you'll see that StarCraft II takes up a lot of the CPU. The only thing that would get you past the "lagging" is to get a faster computer.
     
  3. Finox831 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #3
    Thing is, it actually happens randomly. For example, right now I'm tabbed out of SC2 and typing this and It's not lagging at all but then other times It will be super laggy. (All i have is skype & SC2 opened)
     
  4. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #4
    well then lets eliminate

    processor speed?

    amount of ram?

    sound slieka ram issue soyu have 2 programs runnign and its fine but if you open up 4 or more and it starts lagging you just need more system memory
     
  5. Finox831 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz

    Memory: 4 GB

    I'm new with macs and I don't know how to find the amount of RAM my mac book has, but I can tell you it's one of the newer mac book pros, bought it just a few weeks ago.

    Also, I can open any amount of programs I want at times without lagging then other times it will be very laggy (that's with me opening the same amount of programs)
     
  6. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #6
    hmmm well its very simple click the apple on the top left and select "about this mac" the opening box should have most of your info for technicals select more info.

    it should be fine but SC2 is a massive programs to know how your mac is running with your programs you have 2 options

    1 dl the istat pro widget for your dashboard which will tell you how much ran you are using, all disked connect, and the temps of your components its a very very useful widget

    2 open finder
    go into applications
    select utilities
    open activity monitor (same as istat but much less info)
    look under system memory that is your ram and it will show you what you are using for your programs


    these will help you huge i diagnosed that i needed more ram, and although you do have lots of ram and i am assuming its 1066 so its fast it may just not be enough for some of the big big programs
     
  7. Tmacfan4321 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    University Park, PA
    #7
    Is the act of opening apps slow, or is in-app performance slow?
     
  8. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #8
    happens to me too when i play sc2. i like to play in a window sometimes and if i literally do anything else (mainly type in a webpage in safari), its laggy as hell. must be an sc2 bug, because WoW, sc1, war3x, and diablo 2 are just fine.

    im running 10.6.3 (not 10.6.4 because of the bad nvidia drivers), 500GB momentus XT with the updated firmware, and a 15" mbp with core i7.
     
  9. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    If things are taking time to open, then it's most likely your cpu being pushed to the extreme, and can't handle any more.

    However, osx has problems with its current gpu drivers and proper utilization of vram bandwidth, so having a game open while doing other stuff (even with a quad core nehalem cpu) will give you choppy workflow.
     
  10. saniko macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #10
    Uhh... you realize that all the games you mentioned are many years old right? Starcraft 2 pushes even the latest macbook pros to their limits. Running it in OSX is another setback.

    I don't know what campaigns you are in, but I can't imagine taking a breather for web surfing during SC2.
     
  11. whoooaaahhhh macrumors member

    whoooaaahhhh

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #11
    Running games in windowed mode is always slower because the system can't dedicate to just one application. Try FS, you'll get better performance, or try lowering textures, etc, if you're windowed.
     
  12. fred_garvin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    #12
    Don't forget disk access. For me I've found lags mainly occur when a time machine backup kicks off while I'm playing. I'll check activity monitor and while cpu is high, the disk activity looks to be the culprit.
     
  13. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #13
    1. You stated that you have 4gb of memory, but don't know how to check how much RAM you have. Its the same thing :)

    2. You will have better luck running the game in Windows via bootcamp.

    3. If you've gotta run it in OSX and want to also be able to multi-task you may want to upgrade to 6 or 8gb of RAM. If the problem isn't the performance of the apps when they are open, but the actual speed of the apps opening then you should upgrade to a 7200rpm drive or even an SSD.
     
  14. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    i know i listed old games. many other "recent" games didnt lag osx this bad as sc2. its just interesting that sc2 will literally bring osx down to its knees while playing. as i said, just need to wait for updated drivers from apple and for blizzard to update sc2.
     
  15. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #15
    haha you guys wanna see how tamed osx is?
    this is my 2007 2.16 ghz 4 gb ram 160 gb hdd with 64mb gma 950 gpu

    [​IMG]


    hahah it took em 20 minutes for my computer to minimize the screen so i could exit it >_< haha but the audio sounded pretty good =D
     
  16. Finox831 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #16
    thanks for all the feedback guys, It hasn't been happening lately so it might be fixed!
     
  17. vonb3ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #17
    I did a bit of playing around to get my Steam games and SC2 to work, but honestly I only found bootcamp to be the only proper solution.

    I believe as I have read that 1 problem is 10.6.4 not giving enough juice to the Graphics card. Unfortunately 10.6.3 was not much better.

    The problem may also be somewhere between the OpenGL and GeForce drivers required for each operating system.

    Hope you find a solution though :)
     
  18. hypermog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #18
    In Windows, setting the graphics option to "Windowed - Full Screen" makes alt-tabbing instantaneous. I haven't installed it in OSX due to ***** 10.6.4.
     
  19. yoomy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #19
    I have the same issue and I don't think its the fault of my mac pro. I have an intel ssd, 8gig ram and 2,8ghz Octocore. iStat shows that I am nowhere near full capacity while SC2 is open but it still causes strange lag to the computer even during simply tasks like browsing.
     
  20. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #20
    Not true. Windows behaves this way, but in OS X all that happens is the window border disappears and the window is enlarged to fit the entire screen.

    Try updating the computer to 10.6.4 now, with the new graphic drivers. Also, this could be caused by your macbook over heating and throttling the CPU, or trying to write to the HDD.
     
  21. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #21
    negative. I have the same problem and i'm running on a 17" i7 8GB.
    SCII only uses ~20% on each core on mine and bout 3gb ram
     
  22. chuckflip53 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #22
    Bootcamp for the win! I didn't even bother installing this game on my OSX partition :p
     
  23. pandamonia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #23
    Seriously. wtf

    Never run games in window mode it messes up the performance.

    Starcraft 2 can seriously max out your system and video ram and lets face it you are using a macbook to run it on.

    most likely the 256mb video ram model which is pathetic my desktop has 2GB

    Not to mention the HD cant cope since that is a huge bottleneck!

    what your trying to achieve is unreasonabe thats all
     
  24. yoomy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #24
    Did you even read my post? The system stutter it causes is not a performance issue. It is some sort of bug.
     
  25. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #25
    I installed portal and sc2 on osx just because I'm too lazy to switch back and forth sometimes. I don't even really play video games anymore. Rather be doing something else honestly.
     

Share This Page