Starcraft 2 Mac Beta in April

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Aranince, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
  2. BradenG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. LetUsHXCDance! macrumors newbie

    LetUsHXCDance!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #3
    April is gonna be beast. Beta and Steam coming to mac. This is going to turn the mac gaming around.
     
  4. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    Now if only the new mbp's would come out, i'd be all set to play
     
  5. joanaugusts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #5
    It still has months of balance to go, and the thing it is only balanced for the average and noobie. I am ranked in the top 10 of my platinum league and there is still work to be done . Some of the issues probably sound crazy to most people but they are required if SC2 will last and last as a competitive esports game.
     
  6. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #6
    As someone who is currently testing the PC beta, I can assure you guys its worth the wait. :D
     
  7. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    Got my beta access!

    Ok so I just got my beta key for SC2...
    There is one problem... the client isn't on mac yet! What shall I do? My macbook pro's CD/DVD drive is not working so I cant install windows (bootcamp) what about parallels? would that be possible?

    Heeelllp!
     
  8. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #8
    I imagine that it would be too slow in Parallels. Just wait, it will be here within a few weeks.
     
  9. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Well actually...

    Just for the heck of it I installed the PC client under Parallels 5 a while ago (Win7), and it runs playable.

    This was with all the settings on Low, second smallest screen resn - but plays fine enough. If it's that or waiting for weeks well I know what I'd do heh.

    This was on a 3.06 iMac btw.
     
  10. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #10
    Yeah that might be a problem... I have a Macbook Pro 2,2, 2.33ghz,core 2 duo, 2GB ram and the worst thing ever... a Radeon X1600 (256mb) vram...

    Ill be trying with boothcamp and a wired dvd player... Any tips?
    Cheers
     
  11. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #11
    Are we able to opt-in on the beta for mac yet?
     
  12. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    Well if you are playing in bootcamp you should have no problems at all. SC2 is very forgiving with hardware (Blizzard is cool like that). I'm not a video card person but from what I gather, your card should be good enough.

    In passing I have to say that's something that really impresses me about SC2, compared to say WC3. For some reason WC3 always felt clunky to me, even on good hardware. I always felt like the 3D glitz was slowing me down, and much preferred SC/BW. But SC2 plays just like SC/BW. Very very nicely done and a great relief.

    Hope it works for you!
     
  13. Repo macrumors 6502a

    Repo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #13
    WC3 really doesn't have much as far as graphic control; it came out too soon for that to be properly implemented. There are controls that can help a little, but SC2 is much more accommodating.
     
  14. Bennin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #14
    Be on the Lookout: Our Beta Invites Have Begun!!

    My StarCraft® II: Wings of Liberty™ Beta Test Invitation arrived at 00:56 this A.M.. Mac OS X all the way... no Boot Camp. The flood gate for Mac opt-inners has apparently been open. Get ready to enjoy, boys and girls. Been waiting so long, I feel like some sort of celebration is in order :D.
     
  15. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #15
    Weird, i cant find any info on the Internet about the mac client... When you don't get access to SC2 beta mac client, you just get an account. And for now, you can only download the PC client... Sorry, i think you are wrong...

    If not, I would appreciate for you to direct me towards a mac client download link! TY

    Cheers
     
  16. vong macrumors 6502a

    vong

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #16
    quick question. how come mine, it always keep patching itself back up. everytime its done, it redoes the patch and etc <_<

    edit; n/m had to go to my computer to get it to work(PC VER.)
     
  17. LetUsHXCDance! macrumors newbie

    LetUsHXCDance!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #17
    I remembering hearing in the beginning those who opt-in are completely random, the blues don't even look at their specs, unless they need a certain group of specs. Specifically there was a guy i remember on the forums who had received a key, (via opt-in) and only had submitted mac specs, and could not obtain the mac client.

    However I would love for you to prove me wrong, it has been too long.
     
  18. Bennin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #18
    Now that I better understand what's been going on, I'll have to verify if my over exhuberant claim is true or not. I'm afraid it'll have to wait until after work and my daughter's Birthday dinner though. Sorry in advance to have gotten anyone spun up unnecessarily. :eek:
     
  19. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #19
    Everyone here should opt-in, if they haven't. You can opt-in anytime for Mac. Make sure you do it soon on the battle net login. Don't want to miss the initial Mac beta release.
     
  20. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #20
    Well as I have said previously, i just got my account up...
    But when i get to download the client...
    only this appears and the «MAC» version hasn't been activated yet...
    Picture 3.png
     
  21. Greenbird600 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #21
    Yeah, I just got my invite too, a few minuets ago. When to download the client and it was windows only =( now I'm looking for my windows xp CD key to try and run it in bootcamp.
     
  22. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #22
    You are a lucky one... I have my Key... but cant install Windows as my CD/DvD drive is a MATSHITA DVD-R UJ-857D and it failed after installing an update...
     
  23. Avicenna macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #23
    For those who got the beta key, when did u guys opt in? I opted in today, do you guys think I have a chance?
     
  24. Perplexe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal
    #24
    Opted in 3 days ago... got it yesterday.... it really depends on your computer's specs... I think they want to test the games reliability on different machines... I Got in with these specs... lol

    Picture 3.png

    Cheers
     
  25. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #25
    It doesn't matter when you opt in. If you opt in today, you have the same chance as me, I opted in months ago.
     

Share This Page