Steam Gaming on the Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BSchorr, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. BSchorr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Sioux Falls
    #1
    Steam was released a few months ago, but within the last week, They converted some of the "key" Steam games.. This would be Counter Strike Source and Day of Defeat Source. Just wanted to share a few in-game screen shots...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    I can't get Counter-Strike to load. Steam client will open but when actually trying to load the game, it will hang at a black screen with the rainbow wheel. I'm assuming this has to do with the documented problem with 10.6.4 and/or NVIDIA...

    Come on Apple!
     
  3. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #3
    Yep. Happened to me too. You have to wait a very long time for it to load, it eventually will (in my case)
    In CSS, it stayed at the pinwheel for about 5 minutes for me. I got fed up, so I restored to my Time Capsule image of 10.6.0 and downloaded the 10.6.3 update from the manual Apple Software Update page on apple.com. Now I'm much happier! :)
     
  4. iPagan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #4
    I just want to say that TF2 sucked big on my April 2010 13" MBP! The fps never went beyond 20!!!

    Don't know how the game plays in Windows 7 via Bootcamp? What's the fps you guys are getting in Windows?

    I have 10.6.4 on my 2010 13" MBP.
     
  5. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #5
    It seems like the 10.6.4 update really killed FPS IMO.
    In Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit, I get 32FPS @ 1920X1200 and everything on high. no antialiasing
    44FPS @ 1280x800 and everything on high + 4X antialiasing

    Mac OS X 10.6.3 I get 31FPS @ 1280X800 (High, no antialiasing) and 1920x1200 is unplayable.

    This is with my Sig. Macbook Pro 2.53GHz and 4GB RAM with the Nvidia 9400M

    @iPagan, your graphics card is supposed to be 1.3 times better than mine if I remember correctly!
     
  6. macfrik macrumors 6502

    macfrik

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    Hey. Mind if I ask, What is that on the bottom right hand corner. Is that some kind of a tool to see the fps in game? May I know what is that? Thanks
     
  7. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #7
    Enable the console, then hit the ~ key. type in 'net_graph 1' without the ' '
     
  8. elleana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    #8
    If I recall correctly Steam posted that there are some issues with 10.6.4, and they advised users not to upgrade as yet.
     
  9. erasr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #9
    Loving Steam on my mac, don't even own a copy of Windows and won't do either, everything I need is now on Mac! SC2, CSS, FM.
     
  10. Batracho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #10
    CS Source runs very smoothly on my setup (gettin' about 60fps), everything maxed.
     
  11. RossMc macrumors 65816

    RossMc

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #11
    I wish they would hurry up and convert the original Counter Strike.
     
  12. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #12
    So maybe thats the cause why it runs just horrible on mine...
     
  13. toffa813 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    ATX
    #13
    Yeah I got warning about 10.6.4 too, but it had been too late. I think Apple said something about it too, and they are working with game companies to improve drivers, so stay tuned.

    I did play a small amount of CS, and if I remember right it was fine. I don't know if it was before or after 6.4 though.
     
  14. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #14
    I played a little under 10.6.3, but it's almost impossible under 10.6.4
     
  15. starstruck7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #15
    do you guys think I play counter strike on my macbook 13, 2.4GHz 4GB Memory?
     
  16. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
  17. starstruck7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
  18. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #18
    No problems on Steam on my end after upgrading to 10.6.4.

    I absolutely love Half-Life 2 on my MBP :cool:
     
  19. DocDoom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #19
    Will Half-Life 2 run on the 2.4ghz 13 inch macbook pro...?
     
  20. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #20
    I’ve got Portal and CS:S. Both run great on my 2.53Ghz 15” 2009 model.
    I am running 10.6.4
     
  21. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #21
    Most likely. Runs on my 2.53ghz 15" MBP mid-2009 with no problem.
     
  22. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #22
    when they offer free windows games, I wish you could download them that way if they ever get ported to mac they are still free to you.
     
  23. DocDoom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #23
    Cool...how many Gigs is Half Life 2? Would you happen to know how many gigs is 'The Orange Box'...?
     
  24. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #24
    HL2 = 3.9gb

    Orange Box, I'm not sure of. Look at this: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/1065402.html

    I don't own Orange Box, just HL2, which I picked up for almost $4 as a Steam special a while back! :)
     
  25. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #25
    Probably 6 or a little more for The Orange Box. It is an xbox game, so it has to fit on a DVD.
     

Share This Page