Steam

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Bailey156, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Bailey156 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hi I've been using steam on my mac since it came out but I'm really annoyed with it now. Here's what happened. Steam had an update but my eircom Internet went down during the download, then steam put itself into offline mode. Then it wouldn't let me open it because it had to finish the update and that it was in offline mode but I couldn't put it back online when the Internet came back a minute later. So I reinstalled steam (with the new update) but it said I was on a new computer and I had to validate this. Then because I was on a new computer it had to download my 22GBs of games again. But about 30 minutes through the download I took the steam folder out of the trash and all my games were back. I know I'm just annoyed, but if this happened again is there an easier way to resolve this. P.S. the main reason I'm annoyed is because it took me an hour and a half to resolve and find the issue.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Next time try deleting your .blob files in user/Library/Application Support/Steam
     
  3. MetalMac macrumors member

    MetalMac

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Tijuana, MEX
    #3
    cougarcat's right, same thing happened to me, deleting blobs resolves it.
     
  4. gooch3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #4
    Same problem, but I have no .blob files (a solution I have hit in many places). I have tried uninstalling Steam a number of times, and if I waste another 35MB of downloads (because it never gets to the 38MB needed to complete the update) I will spit it.

    Any other ideas are greatly appreciated.:)
     
  5. Nyalotha macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #5
    I can find Application Support, but I have no steam folder, let alone a steam folder anywhere on my computer..
     
  6. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #6
    Steam folder wont be there if you've never launched Steam.
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    It's your User Application Support folder, not the system one. You'll need to unhide your Library if you are on lion. Option-Click the Go menu in the finder to get to it.
     
  8. gooch3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #8
    Sorry Cougarcat, don't understand your advice. How do I unhide the Library? Option clicking the Go menu doesn't do anything special for me. The directory doesn't exist for me. If Steam is to create it for me it doesn't seem to want to until it completes updating itself, which it has failed to do on the last 15+ occasions for me...
     
  9. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    Use terminal

    chflags nohidden /*user*/Library
     
  10. gooch3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #10
    Thanks Clutzh. The folder was hidden in Finder using Lion.
     
  11. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #11
    Why the heck did they feel the need to make the user library invisible in Lion??
     
  12. gooch3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #12
    @Huntn - it is crazy. Why should you have to learn to use Terminal just to access a basic function? Been using computers for years, Mac for months, and I generally know how to avoid a hassle. This had me stumped.
     
  13. gooch3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #13
    So I've deleted the .blob files. One update seems to have been successfully downloaded, then however a further download (another 26MB) commenced. It downloaded about 3MB at snail's pace before resetting the download counter to 0 and then not progressing any further.

    I have tried uninstalling Steam (dragged icon from Applications folder to Trash) and all that does is recommence the original 38MB download I had already (eventually) succeeded in completing.

    I'm over it.

    Why the hell can't Steam give us the latest patched and updated .exe when we download the installer from the Steam website???? If that's not the purpose of the installer then it should be.:mad:
     

Share This Page